Pecan Chicken Breasts Stuffed with Cream Cheese and Broccoli Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
After reading all the feedback. I noticed the most common negative remark was about how long it took. Well guess what? I prepared it in 5 mins and cooked it for an hour or so. I placed the peacans in a food processor, the onions too, I doubled the broccoli, sourcream and cream cheese and proceeded to cook all in the sauce pan. I cut up boneless chicken breast as ingredients were cooking in sauce pan, placed chicken breast chunks in casserole, poured sauce ingredients over the chicken. Wa-La! Done. I ommitted the bread crumb step and had a tasty sauce with chicken which I served over rice. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This recipe got rave reviews from all of my company! I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs instead of the breasts. I think these might even work better than breasts because they are already folded in half when you purchase them. I unfolded them and pounded them flat so they would be easier to roll. For the filling I noticed alot of the reviews complained there was not enough flavour. I added some chopped up bacon and instead of pimentos I used about 1/4 cup of sundried tomatoes and then threw in a whole bunch of seasonings and spices. I also only used a minimal amout of butter. I coated the chicken in the pecans and crushed up soda crackers instead of bread crumbs. I skipped the pan fry part and opted to just bake them in the oven. I prepared the filling in the morning and let it cool in the fridge for most of the day, this way I really didn't feel that it was all that time consuming! My general belief is that a recipe only provides a guideline and it is up to you to make it great! I would definately make this chicken again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
My family loved this dish, everyone including one 16 mos,and 3 1/2 yrs! Before I served it I said I wouldn't make it again - too time consuming, but sinced it went over so big, I guess I'll just have to plan ahead next time! I omitted the pimento (didn't have) and pecans in the filling (I didn't have enough). For the rest I didn't measure, just tossed it in and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
Beautiful presentation, but I think there might be a little too much going on in the recipe. Maybe lose the pecans or replace the sour cream with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
WOW! This was great! Next time I will add some spice to the cheese mixture, it could have used a little more punch. I made this with the Beautiful Salad from this site and homemade apple sauce and roasted potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canal Winchester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
This recipe is way too much work for the end product. The flavor is so-so and really not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMIK124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
LOVED this recipe! Made it for my husband on his birthday and he said it was the best meal ever. The sauce is delicious... I would highly reccommend this recipe, just allow time to make it because the many ingredients that require chopping took awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
The filling is really good. To save time, I used a previous suggestion and skipped the saute/fry step. However, I did find the chicken breading to be dry in the end then. Next time, I will try mixing some melted butter with the bread crumb/pecan mixture before coating the chicken with it. I also omited the sour cream and doubled the cream cheese (used light crm cheese...still tasted good.) Somehow, we did not want to eat the leftovers though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I'm giving this five stars based on my dinner guests' reactions. I enjoy this recipe, although I cut waaay down on the amount of butter used, and sometimes add some ricotta cheese to the mix. Overall, a great, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Very good recipe but I had to mess around with it a bit. First, there is way too much butter. I just sauteed the veggies in the butter (used like 2 T. of butter), because when I used the full amount it was much too rich for my tastes. Also I tried the broccoli (which was excellent) but since I wanted to serve my dish with broccoli I substituted chopped bell peppers and it tasted great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MedMimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States