Pecan Cardamom Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
This is a very pretty and exotic looking and tasting cookie. The jelly roll pan is essentially a baking sheet with sides - and you probably have one. It does need to be the specified size though. I doubled the pecans and this recipes is GREAT. The cookies must still be warm to cut - don't wait until they are cold. The really stiff dough will cover the pan eventually even though at first it looks like it won't. I have made these cookies many times and they never last and I am giving out the recipe every time I take them somewhere. The men seem to particularly love this cookie and my friend said they went great with tea. They have a toffee type flavor and there is something addictive about the flavor. Also, the price of cardamom is around 75% less at an Indian or eastern type grocery store. Don't pay the national chain prices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Delicious and unique. Sort of similiar in texture to some North Indian sweets I've had (sweet, smooth and very dense) A note for making the frosting, Do not make the frosting until after the bars come out of the oven and you are almost ready to drizzle it. This frosting stiffens very quickly as it cools and looses the nice flowing consistancy. I recommend making the frosting right before you need it, it only takes 5 minutes to make. I put watm frosting in a baggie and drizzled it over the bars. Additionally, I found I needed about 1/2 cup pecans, not 1/3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Hansson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Really really good. Everyone at work loved them; had 3 requests for the recipe. I used almost 1 1/2 cups pecans and still could have used more :). Definitely cut while warm and do not make the frosting too early. I started mine when the cookie part came out of the oven. Might try in a 9x13 pan next time for chewier bars. If using salted butter cut the amount of salt to 1/4 tsp or they will be too salty (comment from a recipe recipient).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I love the flavor of cardamom, and any cookie that turns out as good as these, even when half the butter has been accidentally left out deserves 5 stars! I had read about how thick and sticky the dough was, and mine was just crumbly (sort of like shortbread cookie dough) - that's when I realized I had left out half the butter! I went ahead and patted it into the pan like you would do with shortbread and continued per the recipe. I cooked it a few minutes less (just kept checking by patting the dough), and cut them into bars immediately upon taking them out of the oven, then poured the glaze over. They were probably crisper than they would otherwise have been, but extremely tasty. I plan on adding this to my Christmas cookie repertoire. Might even use the full amount of butter - haven't decided yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Washington, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
These are pretty good, but the cookie portion was not nearly as good as I was expecting based on other reviews, so perhaps I did something wrong. I used over 1 cup of pecans and that was just about right. In the future, I'll add a bit more cardamom (I really like it) and maybe a pinch of cinnamon, and will use orange extract instead of vanilla extract in the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I was called to bake for Church Bake Sale so I decided to try this recipe. If I didn't like it I could bake something else. I don't want to give these to the bake sale! I did wet my palms with cold water when patting the dough into the pan and used a generous cup of pecans. GREAT aroma when baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
These were excellent and easy! I love baking with cardamom and am glad to have another great recipe. The bars have a nice shortbread texture without being dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
I made these for my cardamom loving mom and she loved them. I had a few before giving them to her and I loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Will not make these again because I couldn't taste the cardamom; cutting them into bars was next to impossible, they break and crumble; pecans should be mixed in, a lot were wasted by placing them on top and then they fall off during cutting. I could deal with the lost pecans and the crumbly-ness, but these just don't taste like much of anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
These were easy to make, tasted wonderful, and made lots of cookies. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine S

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States