Pecan Cardamom Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
These are very good. I will skip the glaze next time I make them. I don't think it helped the final product. In fact it was a little too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: English, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
These were excellent and easy! I love baking with cardamom and am glad to have another great recipe. The bars have a nice shortbread texture without being dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
Excellent cookies. Used cardamom seed because I didn't have a way to grind them, and substituted 1/4 cup Splenda brown sugar and 1/2 cup Splenda white sugar for regular sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
These were really good, if you like the flavor of cardamom. I also used more pecans (3/4 cup). My only problem was spreading the dough. I finally covered it with plastic wrap and pressed until it covered the pan then removed the plastic. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Will not make these again because I couldn't taste the cardamom; cutting them into bars was next to impossible, they break and crumble; pecans should be mixed in, a lot were wasted by placing them on top and then they fall off during cutting. I could deal with the lost pecans and the crumbly-ness, but these just don't taste like much of anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I was called to bake for Church Bake Sale so I decided to try this recipe. If I didn't like it I could bake something else. I don't want to give these to the bake sale! I did wet my palms with cold water when patting the dough into the pan and used a generous cup of pecans. GREAT aroma when baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Not bad but very very crumbly. I wasn't overly keen on the frosting stuff either. I love cardamom, but it was a wee bit strong (could have been that the stuff I used was very fresh, and, therefore, potent). I probably won't make this again. Thanks though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
These are pretty good, but the cookie portion was not nearly as good as I was expecting based on other reviews, so perhaps I did something wrong. I used over 1 cup of pecans and that was just about right. In the future, I'll add a bit more cardamom (I really like it) and maybe a pinch of cinnamon, and will use orange extract instead of vanilla extract in the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Really really good. Everyone at work loved them; had 3 requests for the recipe. I used almost 1 1/2 cups pecans and still could have used more :). Definitely cut while warm and do not make the frosting too early. I started mine when the cookie part came out of the oven. Might try in a 9x13 pan next time for chewier bars. If using salted butter cut the amount of salt to 1/4 tsp or they will be too salty (comment from a recipe recipient).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I made these for an Indian-themed party--I made them with crisco instead of butter and it was a little too crumbly and the cardamom flavor was really strong. Maybe next time I might 1/2 the cardamom and add some almond extract?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States