Pecan Cardamom Bar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
Amazingly good. I love cardamom. Also had a great shortbread-type texture. Liked the simple icing, too. 1) Didn't have pecans, used walnuts. Didn't use more than suggested because I didn't feel the need for a solid nut layer lol. None fell off - I chopped them finely and after sprinkling them on, I just patted my hand over them to press them into the dough a little bit. 2) Yeah, don't make the frosting early, it sets up quickly. Also, when you mix the butter into the confectioner's sugar, it won't be a liquid, so don't be concerned, just mix until you get an even "crumb" texture. 3) Yes, cut them while warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Easy & delicious, however I messed up the sauce n didn't use n they were still good wo it, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melouise72
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
These cookies need to be cut while they are still warm or you will have a crumbled mess. Also I read reviews that said the nuts kept falling off the cookie. So I whipped the egg white until soft peaks formed then brushed that onto the cookies base then sprinkled on the chopped pecans. This really helped keep the nuts on the cookies. Also I think cinnamon would taste better than cardamom in this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Tastes like a spicy shortbread cookie - yummy. 1/3 cup of pecans was NOT enough, used more like 3/4 of a cup. Cut while warm, and they pop right out of the pan nicely when cool
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
We searched high and low for these. Use to make them from a MyGreatRecipe card. Can't find those cards ne wheres. Thx for sharing. We used fresh ground cardamom. Don't use a tablespoon of that. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flodara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Thank you Lea! Today I wanted to make this recipe and couldn't find it, and then voila, here it is! The only thing different in the recipe I use is I substitute the vanilla extract for almond. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I omitted the pecans and added some cardamom to the icing. Way too good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I made these cookies for Christmas last year...they are SO good!! The cardamom gives a unique & exotic taste. Making them again this year :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
For me, these cookies had the consistency of shortbread. They were very crumbly and very rich. I could not taste the cardamom at all. I did not drizzle the icing on the cookies to try and cut down on the calories and, instead lightly sprinkled decorative sugar on top to give the cookies a little color. Pretty good for a shortbread cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Everyone who tries these LOVES them. They always try and identify the unique spice. I did change the icing by just mixing powdered sugar with orange juice and zest of 1 orange drizzled over while still warm. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States