Pecan Butter Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I did not care for this recipe. It is easier in recipes where you cream the butter and sugar and then add the flour. The dough didn't turn out right both times I made it. I have tried other recipes where you cream the butter and sugar and will stick with those...they are easier to make and taste better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Archbold, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
So Tasty! My mom loved these cookies. I altered the recipe as suggested and used butter instead of margarine. I also creamed the butter before adding the dry ingredients and 1 3/4 cups of pecans. These were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.B.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
My step-mother makes these, and they are fantastic. She does two things differently than this recipe, which I follow as well. We use 1 cup butter instead of margarine...I can't stand margarine. Also, we use 2 tsp vanilla, instead of the 1/2 tsp called for in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I am making these cookies for the first time. I am working on my second batch. the first batch was a little tough to make into balls so I cut down the amount of pecans from 2 cups to 1 3/4 cups. Much easier to form into balls. Thanks for the recipe. They taste great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These could be the best cookies you ever ate - but they MUST be made with butter!!! I've been making this recipe for over 30 years, always with butter - they are a family favorite at Christmas. They literally melt on your tongue. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I thought these were good and very easy to make. I had no problems forming the dough at all. I'll probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
If you don't dredge them in the powdered sugar they are just as good and better for you! They have such a little amount of sugar in them to begin with, even my diabetic husband can enjoy a couple on occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burbank, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
A wonderful christmas cookie, no other can compare even slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owego, New York, USA
Living In: Groveland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I thought these were fairly easy to make, i did have a little trouble getting the dough to form (might have been my altitude) they tasted great though thanks !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is an amazingly easy and very delectable cookie! Comes out nice and soft. My only change was i cook for about twenty minutes then let cool about 8-10 minutes before shaking in the confectioners sugar in a large zip lock bag. Only shake a few at a time and make sure to use fresh sugar half way thru coating. Will use over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by virgie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States