Pecan Butter Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
I used softened butter instead of margarine. The dough was easy to mix when I used my hands, difficult with a fork. I bought chopped pecans that were not chopped very well, so I re-chopped them and should have chopped them more. FINELY chopped pecans would be best. Also I only cooked for 20 minutes at a time.. at 25 minutes the bottoms burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Taste just like my grandmother's, I used 1 cube of butter and 1 cube of margarine. That is the only adjustment I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
My mom, and now me, have made these for many, many years. They are a wonderful butter cookie. Yes, you need to cream the butter and sugar together first. My old family recipe calls for a 325 degree oven and bake for 18-20 minutes. They are light and creamy - dreamy too! I've actually made some with walnuts as my husband isn't too excited about pecans. Both are great - pecans just a little bit better in my opinion. I roll in powdered sugar when they first come out of the oven and then after they've cooled, I sprinkle with more powdered sugar. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is an amazingly easy and very delectable cookie! Comes out nice and soft. My only change was i cook for about twenty minutes then let cool about 8-10 minutes before shaking in the confectioners sugar in a large zip lock bag. Only shake a few at a time and make sure to use fresh sugar half way thru coating. Will use over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by virgie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
A little crunchier than my Grandma's recipe, but just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Funny, its called Pecan "Butter" Balls, with no butter? Found this recipe to be very bland, even with substituting the margarine with butter. It was disappointing to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
My step-mother makes these, and they are fantastic. She does two things differently than this recipe, which I follow as well. We use 1 cup butter instead of margarine...I can't stand margarine. Also, we use 2 tsp vanilla, instead of the 1/2 tsp called for in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These cookies are delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandra
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
simple to make. very good taste. I had to cut the recipe in half as I didn't have enough pecans. However, I was still able to get about 20 smaller balls from half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
So Tasty! My mom loved these cookies. I altered the recipe as suggested and used butter instead of margarine. I also creamed the butter before adding the dry ingredients and 1 3/4 cups of pecans. These were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.B.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States