Pecan Baked Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Piratefrog
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was a great dish, however I used several substitutions due to not having some of the ingredients the recipe called for. I first changed the servings to 2. I didn't have white wine, so instead I used diluted apple cider vinegar (50 vin/50 h2o). I used half pecans/half hazelnuts, half wheat thin crumbs/half plain bread crumbs. I also mixed in 1 TS of honey with the melted butter before drizzling it on top. The topping turned out to be sweet, but it was not overpowering. Sweet is not something I usually think of when it comes to seafood, but this was mmMM delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piratefrog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Recipe is very good and easily adaptable to other ingredients. For example other types of nuts rather than pecans and any type of crackes. I used triskets, but watch the salt as they are salty. I also marinated the scallaps for 30 minutes in a combination of juice and seasonings that we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Hubby loved these and requested they go in the keeper file. The recipe definately calls for too much wine though. I seasoned the scallops with some garlic salt and pepper and added some Parmesan cheese to the topping mixture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suemck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I would increase the pecans, decrease the wine and broil for the last 1-2 minutes. Easy and good though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Delicious recipe. I used 1/4 cup of wine and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainview, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
These tasted pretty good but there was too much wine and it made the topping a little mushy. Next time I'll use half the amount of wine! Also, it turned a weird/unattractive grey color after baking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Great and simple recipe for a busy work night! These turned out great and pretty good for you. I used wheat crackers instead. I would cut down on the amount of wine used as I had to poor some out of the baking pan. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I loved this recipe. It was fast and delicious. The only change I made was adding chopped fresh basil as a sub for the parsley (I had a bumper crop of basil this year). I served this with rice and roasted broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Broiled Scallops

Try these incredibly easy broiled scallops in a butter and lemon sauce.

Baked Salmon Dijon

This recipe is simple enough for busy weeknights, elegant enough for parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States