Pebber Nodder (Danish Christmas Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
This makes 100???? They disappeared too fast for me to count! I tried rolling and cutting as directed, but found that just rolling into little balls made them look more presentable. Although, judging from their disappearance, presentation had little effect on the family. For Christmas, I think I'd roll them in raw sugar to make them a bit "prettier" - and maybe try rolling and twisting a few into a "pretzel" shape, then dip into sugar. Maybe even add a tsp. (or less) of black pepper, for a spicier cookie and roll into powdered sugar after baking. The dough seems like it'd be versatile enough to do that. The best part of the cookies, *I* think, is the crispy little bottoms that make them so chewy. I think we'll have to use this recipe more often than for Christmas. (Since we're at high altitude, I also added a bit extra flour...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
quite good. like the other reviewer, I just made them as drop cookies. After 10 min they weren't quite done but the bottoms looked like they were getting brown so I dropped the temp to 300 and baked them another 3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Delicious and easy! I followed the recipe exactly. The narrower I rolled the dough the crunchier the nuggets baked up. This was my first time using the spice cardamom-what a lovely aroma and taste! My kids loved these and they were an easy quiet snack for church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
excellent! i grew up with these cookies. my uncle usually made them only at christmas ! his secret ! thanks for the recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This recipe was excellent!! I rolled them in Christmas sprinkles before baking and they turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Great recipe. I was looking for a Danish recipe to make for my mom this Christmas and this was definitely a winner. I cut the recipe in half and it worked out great. I also rolled the top of the dough into red sugar sprinkles before baking. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Oh, wow! A very simple little cookie, but in the best possible way. Smelled heavenly baking, too. I ended up rolling balls in sugar and flattening to about 1/8 inch, and they came out very pretty indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Based on reviewer before me, I doubled the cardamom. I also rolled into balls and then into red and/or green sugar. Very easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SgtP2
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Very easy to make. My first batch yielded 220 cookies - I guess I have small fingers. I used my thumbnail as a guide for 1/2-inch and used kitchen shears to cut the pieces. Just sweet enough to enjoy many many many times. I will try some of the variations posted here. Thank you for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SgtP2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Cedar Hill, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I made these tonight and boy, does my kitchen smell great!!! Mine didn't take 10 min--they were so small, they only took 7 or 8, and I didn't want them too brown. Anyway, thanks for a great recipe. The only bad thing is I can't stop popping them into my mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States