Pebber Nodder (Danish Christmas Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This is one of the cookies my Scandinavian grandfather used to make every Christmas that made memories in my family. Grandpa passed away 4 years ago, and was too frail to make them for at least a few years before that. So, it's been a long time since I have eaten one. I knew the ingredients, but didn't know the ratios. Thank you so much for posting this. I did double the cardamom and cinnamon, and added a dash of ginger and cloves. I am giving this recipe a 4 because it's missing two vital ingredients to traditional Danish Pebber Nodder, which I just played with until I felt the taste was just right. It was roughly 1/2 tsp of mace, and 1/4 tsp of white pepper. I made these for my annual cookie exchange. They were so good to snack on and they made perfect neighbor gifts put into small mason jars with pretty ribbon and a homemade tag. Thank you for giving me back an old family tradition, and giving me a fond way of remembering my grandfather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I had never heard of cardamom so went to the store to get it. After bringing it home and smelling it I almost didn't use it. But......these cookies are fabulous!!! I rolled mine in about 1/2 inch balls, rolled them in granulated sugar and baked for 10 mins. These are wonderful with coffee or hot tea. I also added 1 tsp. vanilla simply because I add vanilla to all cookie and cake recipes I think will benefit from it. These were awesome!!!!! My husband smelled the cardamom also and wrinkled his nose up. He's a real cookie fan and eats cookies and milk every night before bed. After they finished, he couldn't keep his hands off. A great benefit from baking these cookies?????? The house smells wonderful!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
This makes 100???? They disappeared too fast for me to count! I tried rolling and cutting as directed, but found that just rolling into little balls made them look more presentable. Although, judging from their disappearance, presentation had little effect on the family. For Christmas, I think I'd roll them in raw sugar to make them a bit "prettier" - and maybe try rolling and twisting a few into a "pretzel" shape, then dip into sugar. Maybe even add a tsp. (or less) of black pepper, for a spicier cookie and roll into powdered sugar after baking. The dough seems like it'd be versatile enough to do that. The best part of the cookies, *I* think, is the crispy little bottoms that make them so chewy. I think we'll have to use this recipe more often than for Christmas. (Since we're at high altitude, I also added a bit extra flour...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmartcookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Delicious and easy! I followed the recipe exactly. The narrower I rolled the dough the crunchier the nuggets baked up. This was my first time using the spice cardamom-what a lovely aroma and taste! My kids loved these and they were an easy quiet snack for church.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I doubled the cinnamon and cardamom, added a dash of salt and a half-teaspoon of vanilla. I also rolled them into small balls and coated with granulated sugar before baking. Not too sweet, aromatic, and scrumptous--definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This recipe was excellent!! I rolled them in Christmas sprinkles before baking and they turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
As a true dane I must say that this recipe is incomplete. As the name Peber Nodder indicates the recipe calls for Pepper! To get the real flavor of this traditional cookie you must add white pepper and ginger. As a child I made these every year with my mom and we never went through the trouble of rolling, we simply plugged little pieces of the dough and rolled them into balls in our hands. Much more fun and the whole family can participate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
quite good. like the other reviewer, I just made them as drop cookies. After 10 min they weren't quite done but the bottoms looked like they were getting brown so I dropped the temp to 300 and baked them another 3 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Very edible little bites that are a great filler cookie for holiday plates. The unique bite of the cardamom makes them almost refreshing and very easy to pop into your mouth one after the other. I think they are versatile enough to merit the addition of a wide variety of tasty decorations. The one change I suggest after making the recipe several times is baking them an additional two minutes to make the outside of the cookie just a touch more crispy without betraying the soft shortbread insides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pavlovspetpeeve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Oh, wow! A very simple little cookie, but in the best possible way. Smelled heavenly baking, too. I ended up rolling balls in sugar and flattening to about 1/8 inch, and they came out very pretty indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States