Pebber Nodder (Danish Christmas Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Easy to make, followed the recipe exactly, I just cut it in half. I forgot when I left it in to bake, so I think I had it in for 5 minutes too long. They're soft & crunchy and still delicious! You can't tell if they're cooked or not just by looking at the top so definitely check the bottom of the cookie at 10 minutes. I powdered with sugar afterwards and it's scrumptious! It seems like it'll go well with tea, coffee or milk. Mmm mm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
These are awesome, but I tweaked the recipe a little to get them that way. I add 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and cardamom (not just the one), plus 1/4 tea white pepper and a dash of black pepper (1/8 tea. or less, I just give a couple shakes across the top). Then I just roll the dough into 1 inch balls, roll them in a little sugar and cinnamon mixture (amount of cinnamon depends on your tastes, I like a bit), then put them in to bake. So much easier the rolling into the ropes!! Rolling in the sugar/cinnamon mix helps battle the lack of sweetness others have mentioned. The spicy sweetness makes this a unique cookie that my whole family can't stop eating!! I'm getting ready to make this for the fourth time right now. I've had rave reviews from all of my extended family members as well! I sent a dozen to all of my extended family members in Christmas goodie baskets. I'm so glad I found this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
A quick tip for baking these: if they START browning around the edges, they're done. They won't turn golden all over like, say, chocolate chip cookies, and if you try and bake them longer, they'll taste fine fresh but harden up quickly. I couldn't get my hands on cardamom, but I'm sure it tastes great with it, judging from the other reviews here. I compensated by doubling cinnamon and adding 1 tsp. each of cloves and pepper. If you cream the butter properly, the dough is soooo easy to work with! Just sticky enough, and soft. These cookies come out great if you cut it like the directions say or even if you roll it by hand into one-inch balls. Thank you for a really simple recipe that has a yummy, subtle taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I doubled the cinnamon, and they were delicious. Maybe try with some white pepper (the pebber) next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is my fist review on allrecipes, so forgive the rambling... but I have to say I made these for Christmas, and all the Danish people online who warn you to double/triple the recipe are right! They disappear fast. After years of reading recipes/reviews here and screaming about all the people who CHANGE the recipe and then review it, I have hereby joined their ranks: I used 1/2 c. lard + 1/2 c. butter, 1/2 c. brown sugar + 1/2 c. white sugar, cut down on the cinnamon and added a heavy dose of white pepper ("peber"). Fantastic. And SO easy, compared to all of the rolling and pressing I did this Christmas. I will definitely be making these every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Solomons, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I just made these yesterday. I didn't get 100 cookies out of the recipe, but perhaps I made them bigger than they're supposed to be. (?) They're not very pretty but they sure taste good! I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 because I doubled the cardamom and cinnamon, like other reviewers suggested, and I think they could still use a little more. (but I really like spicy things!) Also, my dough was really sticky and hard to work with, as in it wasn't capable of being rolled into balls. I added at least 5 TBS of flour before it was firm enough to be manipulated. I don't know if it was elevation, humidity, or just the recipe. However, once I got it just right, they turned out perfect! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Beauty. I made these last year and used them as space-filler in gift-tins. Super-cute and simple. Making them again this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by purplesockllama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This cookie tastes phenomenal! I really like that it uses a handful of common ingredients. The dough was easy to handle, although a bit wet, but rolling and cutting was a cinch. My rating is unchanged by this, but my partner mentioned that they were a "little plain". I feel that they may not be ideal for people expecting full-on, super-sugared up Christmas cookies. I love that they are subtle and would pair well with tea, coffee, or cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I liked these a lot...although I did not use the cardamom because I didn't have it...they aren't overwhelming sweet or strong in any flavor, they are great with powdered sugar on them after they cool a little, also used red sugar and rolled them in it before cutting them to bake them. And! I used this dough to make thumb print cookies....easy to work with and tasty! A must try!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These are such a great find. I was looking for something new and different. Who knew these little guys would create such a great compliment to the sweeter cookies that will be going out as Christmas gifts this year. My boyfriend compared them to little spicy pop-tarts. I just think they are YUMMY! I also added about a half a teaspoon of pepper to the dough to give it a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States