Pebber Nodder (Danish Christmas Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
My husbands family (Danish) made these for years and they always had to have white pepper in them. Cardamom is a wonderfuly spice as have the previous non users found out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sonya M.
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Love this recipe. The blend of cardamom and cinnamon is fantastic. Make it every year. I like that it doesn't recommend to use powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonya M.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I just made this recipe and its wonderful. The dough is easy to work with and it make lots of delightful little nuggets. They smell wonderful when baking. I decorated them for Christmas and they look so cute. The only thing I did differently was to add extra cinnamon. Personal taste. Thank you for an easy, tasty recipe. I will keep this as a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Like others, I doubled the amount of cardamom and cinnamon. I also rolled the dough into balls by hand and baked them that way. I have to say that my cookies must have been much larger than the recipe calls for because I only ended up with about 30 versus 100. The cookies are delicious, a mouthful though. I may use pepper in the next batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andreanugget

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Good cookies, unusual flavor though. I hadn't used cardamom before. Will use the flavor again, but maybe not with these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I=Cookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Easy to make, followed the recipe exactly, I just cut it in half. I forgot when I left it in to bake, so I think I had it in for 5 minutes too long. They're soft & crunchy and still delicious! You can't tell if they're cooked or not just by looking at the top so definitely check the bottom of the cookie at 10 minutes. I powdered with sugar afterwards and it's scrumptious! It seems like it'll go well with tea, coffee or milk. Mmm mm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
These are awesome, but I tweaked the recipe a little to get them that way. I add 2 teaspoons of cinnamon and cardamom (not just the one), plus 1/4 tea white pepper and a dash of black pepper (1/8 tea. or less, I just give a couple shakes across the top). Then I just roll the dough into 1 inch balls, roll them in a little sugar and cinnamon mixture (amount of cinnamon depends on your tastes, I like a bit), then put them in to bake. So much easier the rolling into the ropes!! Rolling in the sugar/cinnamon mix helps battle the lack of sweetness others have mentioned. The spicy sweetness makes this a unique cookie that my whole family can't stop eating!! I'm getting ready to make this for the fourth time right now. I've had rave reviews from all of my extended family members as well! I sent a dozen to all of my extended family members in Christmas goodie baskets. I'm so glad I found this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
A quick tip for baking these: if they START browning around the edges, they're done. They won't turn golden all over like, say, chocolate chip cookies, and if you try and bake them longer, they'll taste fine fresh but harden up quickly. I couldn't get my hands on cardamom, but I'm sure it tastes great with it, judging from the other reviews here. I compensated by doubling cinnamon and adding 1 tsp. each of cloves and pepper. If you cream the butter properly, the dough is soooo easy to work with! Just sticky enough, and soft. These cookies come out great if you cut it like the directions say or even if you roll it by hand into one-inch balls. Thank you for a really simple recipe that has a yummy, subtle taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
I doubled the cinnamon, and they were delicious. Maybe try with some white pepper (the pebber) next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
This is my fist review on allrecipes, so forgive the rambling... but I have to say I made these for Christmas, and all the Danish people online who warn you to double/triple the recipe are right! They disappear fast. After years of reading recipes/reviews here and screaming about all the people who CHANGE the recipe and then review it, I have hereby joined their ranks: I used 1/2 c. lard + 1/2 c. butter, 1/2 c. brown sugar + 1/2 c. white sugar, cut down on the cinnamon and added a heavy dose of white pepper ("peber"). Fantastic. And SO easy, compared to all of the rolling and pressing I did this Christmas. I will definitely be making these every year from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Solomons, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States