Pebber Nodder (Danish Christmas Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
A little too bland for my tastes, and not visually appealing at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I added the spices that one of the other reviewers did and rolled the little pillows in cinnamon sugar mixture. They are perfection. I can't keep them around for more than a day so I have no idea if they keep well. A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
My older daughter and I made these together. We were amazed at how simply they came together, and how the rest of the family loved them! We rolled half the cooling cookies in powdered sugar for variety, but both versions were gobbled up. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenonymous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Well these cookies were easy to make I had a problem finding cardamom. The cookies turned out like the picture. I did not make 100 cookies I made like 70. I problay made them to large! The cookie its self was good. It was not that sweet. This also did not taste like a Christmas cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I make a batch of cookies weekly for my dad and I am always looking for something different. I saw this recipe and decided to try it. After reading the reviews saying it needed more cardamom and cinnamon I decided to roll the "pockets" in granulated sugar with a pinch of the spices in it. That added a good bit of flavour. The only other thing I would change is to add 1/2 tsp.of salt and a tsp of vanilla. I might try it next time with the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
As a true dane I must say that this recipe is incomplete. As the name Peber Nodder indicates the recipe calls for Pepper! To get the real flavor of this traditional cookie you must add white pepper and ginger. As a child I made these every year with my mom and we never went through the trouble of rolling, we simply plugged little pieces of the dough and rolled them into balls in our hands. Much more fun and the whole family can participate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BNMacKenzie
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This is a very tasty, very tender shortbread cookie. It's addictive, in fact! I don't like cardamom, so I subbed 1/2tsp nutmeg for it and they turned out great! Slightly spicy (from the cinnamon), not too sweet, they're perfect with some hot cocoa or coffee. They are a little bit of work to shape, but otherwise, I can't rate them high enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BNMacKenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
These cookies were OK. My husband didn't care for them and my daughter and I thought they were OK....If I made them again, I would use less cinnamon, I think that would have tasted better and more to our liking. The dough is nice for a cookie press though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I tried it initially exactly as written. The dough was sticky, so I chilled it for several hours before rolling it into 'fingers' as directed. I did not add more flour, though it was sticky to work, it was not unmanagable. I did most of the rolling by wrapping the segments of dough in the lg ZipLoc bag i'd chilled the dough inside. I will add a bit more flour next time (perhaps a half cup) My cookies, though I cut them as directed, did 'soften' when baked into small 'coin' shapes. Making them as directed is (IMO) faster than trying to drop them onto sheet. Cookie has a crisp bottom and a softer top (but not at all 'chewey' when sized and baked as directed) Flavor is mild, but nice. The Cardamom tastes ginger=like to me. I will have NO trouble using this spice in other recipes. I will make this cookie again with additional flour, a bit (1/4-1/2 t) more of the spices, and bake them a bit longer (1-2 min) for more 'crisp'. This will be a nice 'light' summer cookie, perhaps with fruit, or crushed as topping or crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keydancer
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
But being as I live in Denmark I have to say that this recipe is missing white pepper as part of the ingredients. That is one of the essential ingredients to Pebber (Pepper) Nodder. They taste so great with 1/2 tsp. white pepper. Try adding that to the recipe its even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States