Pebber Nodder (Danish Christmas Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Wow! What an amazing cookie. Addictive, not too sweet and easy to make. I made these for Christmas Eve and my family (including my daughter) raved over them. After reading many reviews I simply rolled into balls and baked (cute little cookies) instead of doing the ropes, etc. Also, I put in 2 tsp of cinnamon and cardamom (I doubled it), dash cloves, 1/4 tsp white pepper and ginger. Yum! Next time I think I will try nutmeg instead of cloves and maybe a dash or two of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Very delicious recipe! I really like how the cinnamon and cardamom gave the cookie a bit of a kick! Will make for next Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Very easy to make. Love the cardamom taste. Perfect for last minute holiday baking!! These little things are addictive too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Saving this to my recipe box! We usually make my great grandmother's Kringler every year (my favorite) but for church coffee time they can be a bit fragile as there is no egg in those. Seems quite a few end up on the ground! (??) But this recipe would take care of that! They sound delicious & I know the danish & Norwegian grandmothers would get a kick out of them! Thank you for sharing some Scandinavian recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I make these every winter for the office, everyone loves them! Cant go wrong with danish baking ever :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel Sorensen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Definitely add the 1/4tsp. ground ginger and 1/4tsp. white pepper! And you do not need to double the cardamom if you are using freshly ground--and freshly ground is the way to go. It's easy to break the pods open and use a pestle and mortar on them. My 5 year old did it and it just ramps up the flavor so much! I also found they cooked better with a better interior texture when I did the ropes and cut them like the recipe said. I did try them rolled into little balls individually too but they came out chewy in the middle and compared to the little squares, they had less spice flavor probably because the temp required to get it crisped throughout also toasts the spices and brings out their flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Very tasty! I love the uniqueness of spices used. Also not overly sweet like a lot of holiday cookies seem to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ggourde

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ichikawa, Chiba, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I replaced the cardomom for nutmeg because this was a spontaneous bake. They turned out aromatic rather than spicy, they were quite pleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
My favorite cookie with the following changes... 2 t cardamom, 2 t cinnamon, 1/2 t mace and 1/4 t white pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I doubled the spices as a few other reviewers mentioned (2 teaspoons each cardamom and cinnamon) and dipped them in a mixture of cinnamon and sugar (four parts granulated sugar to one part cinnamon) to make them a little sweeter. They still are not as sweet as normal American cookies, but I like them. The first time I tried making them, I found them to be too gloopy to roll into ropes and made them as drop cookies. The second time, I got the bright idea to wrap the dough in plastic wrap and place it in the fridge for a few hours. It firms up nicely and then you can roll into ropes and cut it as the instructions state. I like the appearance of the cookies when made this way--like little pillows. :) I forgot to count them before eating a bunch (LOL) but I think it made about 90. I baked for 4 minutes, rotated the pan, and then for another 4. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States