Peasant Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This bread is actually perfection! Sooooo good! And sooo super easy too. I do not have a bread machine so here is how to make it without one: First mix the yeast, sugar, and water and let that proof for about 10 minutes. Then, mix in the flour and salt and knead until smooth (okay, so I DO have a KitchenAid Mixer, which helps immensely), about 5-7 minutes with the dough hook in the KitchenAid. Place in a greased bowl (make it a BIG bowl, this rises sooo much) and cover with greased plastic wrap, and let rise until doubled (about an hour). Then punch down and knead another two minutes or so on a lightly floured surface, flatten slightly (maybe an inch thick) and roll once into an oval shaped loaf (be sure to pinch the seal closed). Make three diagonal slices on top of bread, place on greased cookie sheet, cover and let rise another hour. Bake at 350 for about 40 minutes. Bread is done when it sounds hollow when thumped on the bottom. Oh, also, I used an extra 1/2 cup of flour, but my house must be extra humid because I always have to add extra flour to my bread recipes. You are looking for the dough to pull completely away from the edge and bottom of the bowl when you are doing your first knead. This bread is soooo good it is really a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
The posted recipe is nearly the exact recipe for French Bread that was included with my bread machine. I agree...it's the BEST french bread! I read that some people's loaves were falling...it may be that the proportions are off a bit. My recipe says (instead of 1 1/2 cups of water) there should only be 1 cup + 2TBL for 3 1/2 cups of flour. 1 1/2 TBL of vegetable oil is an optional add. I always make the 2 LB loaf, bake it on the French Bread cycle and it comes out perfect every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
I'm smiling ear-to-ear over how wonderful this bread turned out! I didn't change a thing to the recipe and baked it on medium crust on the french bread cycle. It turned out a nice golden brown color and was very crispy on the outside and soft and tender on the inside. I love how the end pieces are really crunchy. This is my very first time ever baking in my bread machine too!!! My husband was so impressed. A great way to eat it is to slice it and dip it in some balsamic vinegar with olive oil and fresh cracked pepper. It's also one of those breads that is so good you can eat it plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2002
I was unsure of a bread with no fat, but since I am watching my weight and love (and we are talking addicted) bread I gave it a shot. I am so happy that I did. This bread does not lack in flavor and texture. It is one of the best basic white breads I have made. I am so glad to have found this and so is my diabetic father!! Many thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Simple, tasty bread! Thanks for the recipe! If you're having problems with your bread, here are some things to consider: 1. Double-check the settings on your bread machine--and if you've never used it before, be aware that your first loaf will probably be a "throw-away" loaf (don't worry, it's not you, it's the machine). 2. Check your ingredients. They should be at room temperature when added, not cold--especially the yeast. Also, if your yeast is not fresh enough, your bread may not rise enough, or at all. 3. If the top of your bread consistently falls, check the seal on your bread machine, or try setting it in an area that has no drafts. Failing that, you can adjust the ingredient amounts, using the recipes given by the manufacturer as a guide. 4. Be sure you're using BREAD flour, not "all-purpose." Bread flour has added gluten, which helps the rising and the texture of the bread. 5. Don't expect this to come out tasting or feeling like purchased sandwich bread or those "brown-and-serve" breads. It won't. HTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atchison, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2002
Fantastic bread. Very crusty and crunchy (although very pale and odd looking when used French cycle). Most tast and crunchy recipe made. Makes wonderful extremely crunchy toast !! A bit much for children, but great for those wantoing tasty very crunchy bread. DOesn't keep well - but doesn't need to !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
great recipie. it tastes like english muffin bread. the loaf isn't that big, but it packs a lot of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This is so easy to make! I shaped the dough into bread sticks and they are so crunchy and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bon
Home Town: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong
Living In: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2000
This was a real time saver for me. It was fast and easy. The bread came out wonderfully, beautiful color, texture and taste. It is a moist bread that maintained its shape even when being cut. Natalie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laceyworks
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This is a very tasty bread. I did not use a bread machine so I had to make a few changes. To fit my 2 qt bowl I was baking in I reduced the ingredient amounts to:1 tsp active dry yeast, 1 cup water, 1/2 tbsp sugar, 1 tsp kosher salt and 2 cups all purpose flour. I proofed the yeast in the sugar & 110 degree water for about 10 minutes, then added to the dry ingredients and mixed well. I covered with saran wrap and let rise for about 2 hours in a warm place, 75 degrees. I then used two forks to punch down the dough, basically by pulling the dough off the sides of the bowl into the middle. I buttered bottom and sides of a pyrex oven safe bowl with 1 tbsp butter, room temp. Then raked the dough into the prepared bowl. Preheated oven to 425 (then turned off so I could warm the stovetop a little). Sit bowl on stove top to rise a second time, I left mine uncovered this time, this rise took about 45 minutes. I let mine rise about 1 inch under the top of the bowl. Then I baked on 425 for 15 minutes, reduced heat to 375 and baked an additional 15. Removed from bowl onto cooling rack immediately. Turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceyworks

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States