Peasant Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Very easy, nice and soft. Made this bread for bf who doesn't really like whole grain breads, and it was a hit. I'll have to make it again for him, as he gets cranky when I don't remake things. This is good, and a basic, plain white bread. thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Very easy to make in the bread machine. Loved the simplicity. Added extra flour (3 tablespoons) and will decrease yeast next time due to high altitude. Kids loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Did not turn out well when I did this in my bread machine. Had to add an extra cup of flour as I had a liquid mess in the bottom after the first 5-10 mins. Ended up pale and flexed with flour. ( I added the flour and then started the cycle again) However I did this again by hand and cooked in the oven. Turned out much better and one of my daughters absolutley loves it. Will do this again but in the oven in future
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swindon, Wiltshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Par, Cornwall, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This came out great! I took one reviewers advice and reduced the water. I also restarted the cycle after the first rise and the bread came out nice and crusty. I will make this many times over for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson Falls, New York, USA
Living In: Queensbury, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
My second attempt at homemade bread, it is a nice basic bread recipe. Very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracee Workman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
i really liked this recipe...i did the dough cycle in the bread machine then shaped it let it rise then i cooked it in the oven...well needless to say i nearly ate half of the loaf myself...i was really good and i will make this again...thanks for the recipe...update...i made the loaf in the bread machine from start to finish and used the french cycle...well it proved again that it is a great recipe for me!!!...besides the shape...it was just like i had baked it in the oven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
The absolute BEST BREAD! People always ask for the recipe on this. I doesn't get any better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
The Dr wanted me to eat less fat and that usually means less taste with certain foods. I was very happy to find this recipe because my whole family loves this bread, and I can eat it too ! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberRayne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oracle, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I make bread about 2-3 times/wk and this is the first time I've had a loaf collapse on me. I followed the recipe exactly with the Med crust and the French cycle. The top looked like a huge crater. The flavor was good and the inside was almost a sourdough texture which isn't what I expected but wasn't bad. The crust was crunchy but chewy at the same time. Not quite what I'm looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shef W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
soft and flaky. one to use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States