Peasant Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is an EXCELLENT bread. I don't have a bread machine and I did exactly what Dandydell said in her review and it came out perfectly. Absolutely perfectly. We ate half the loaf that night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
my boyfriend loves this bread. it tastes just like french bread, and the basic ingredients are great for when you're out of milk or eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I made two so far today, and my roomie put me in charge of making bread form now on, both turned out very well. The second loaf, I substituted probably a quarter of the water for olive oil and added a dash each of oregano, basil and black pepper. The pepper in particular provided a nice bite. The bread was nice and fluffy on the French bread setting with a light crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karla
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I doubled the recipe and added just a couple of teaspoons of shortening and 3 tablespoons of ground flax seed. Made with my kitchen center dough hooks and finished by hand. Do not let rise too long (over 40 minutes) just before baking. Add some water directly onto the bottom of the oven before turning the oven on, and watch them swell up while baking! The steam keeps the bread moist and lets it rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Delicious! Cheap and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is one of my all time favorite bread recipes. Comes out perfect every time I make it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delhi, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I really enjoyed baking this bread. I did use the conventional method (knead and rise).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICHINGA2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua
Living In: New Windsor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Good bread. I used french bread setting on my machine and reduced yeast to about 2tsp of fast acting. I'll probably reduce the water amount a little bit next time too. Makes good french toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Awesome! I have used my bread machine for 10 years, and this is the best recipe I have found. One note is that it did not bake all the way on light crust. I made it again using the medium crust setting, and the crust was pale and the bread was delicious. Next time I will try the dark crust setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
this is soooooo good. Indeed it is good for toast. I`ve made a lot of loaves for friends, and they all want more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States