Peasant Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Made a very small dense loaf. I took the advice of one of the reviewers and reduced the amount of water- probably a mistake since the dough seemed too dry during mixing and I had to add some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Kennedy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I tried this out last night without a bread machine, according to another reviewer's method, and it came out pretty good! I think it lacked a little in flavor, but made up for it in texture! It was nice and crispy on the outside, but soft and chewy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zombnomnom
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I have made this recipe several times in my 1 1/2 lb bread machine because it's my partner's favorite. However, like many other reviewers, it rose way too much. This time I decided to use the dough cycle and bake it in the oven, using dandyell's suggestion of 350 degrees for about 40 minutes on a lightly greased pan. I add some white pepper and Sylvia's seasoning, brushed some butter over the top towards the end of baking, and added a bit of cornmeal to the bottom. Perfection!!! The texture is soft and chewy, with a beautiful crust that's not too crisp. I made a delicious sandwich with it, and my partner is planning on devouring most of the loaf. I did have to add a little flour to the dough, but I'm also not a super precise measurer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I have made this 5 or 6 times in the last 2 weeks. It is DELICIOUS. Crunchy crust, soft and flavorful and solid on the inside. Perfect, perfect, perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Bandziukas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Rubber. Had to pry it out. Not hard directions to follow, I have no idea what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fruitport, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I made some changes to this recipe due to my own tastes. I add caraway seeds to top before baking, brushed the top with salt water to give it a crispier crust, and I skipped the final rising. I loved it! It would with or with out the changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
This bread is amazing! I followed Dandyell's directions since I don't have a bread maker and it came out perfect. The crust was a nice crisp and the inside was chewy and perfect. I made garlic butter for it which complimented it very well. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Delicious with home made tzaziki and in Italian beef and bread salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Have been making this wonderful recipe for years. It is chewy, delicious, and unforgettable when toasted. My husband looks forward to when I make a loaf...and my old fishing "bud" never, ever turns it down. Toasted and buttered, it makes a great sidekick for chili, spaghetti, soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PIERBUM
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
This bread is fantastic. Great color, taste, rise - everything. So easy, few ingredients and nothing "hard to find". This will be made again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States