Peasant Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Great, simple recipe. Like another couple of reviewers here, my bread collapsed, seriously although it was still eatable. I halved the amount of yeast and the problem disappeared. Too much yeast/too lttle salt makes the dough rise too quickly and then collapse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laceyworks
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
This is a very tasty bread. I did not use a bread machine so I had to make a few changes. To fit my 2 qt bowl I was baking in I reduced the ingredient amounts to:1 tsp active dry yeast, 1 cup water, 1/2 tbsp sugar, 1 tsp kosher salt and 2 cups all purpose flour. I proofed the yeast in the sugar & 110 degree water for about 10 minutes, then added to the dry ingredients and mixed well. I covered with saran wrap and let rise for about 2 hours in a warm place, 75 degrees. I then used two forks to punch down the dough, basically by pulling the dough off the sides of the bowl into the middle. I buttered bottom and sides of a pyrex oven safe bowl with 1 tbsp butter, room temp. Then raked the dough into the prepared bowl. Preheated oven to 425 (then turned off so I could warm the stovetop a little). Sit bowl on stove top to rise a second time, I left mine uncovered this time, this rise took about 45 minutes. I let mine rise about 1 inch under the top of the bowl. Then I baked on 425 for 15 minutes, reduced heat to 375 and baked an additional 15. Removed from bowl onto cooling rack immediately. Turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laceyworks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Fluffy
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Great bread recipe I used my oven 350 40 minutes I proofed my yeast for ten minutes let it rise for an hour Let rise for another hour in Pyrex dish 9x13 and baked easy to make Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is our favorite bread for the breadmaker!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I am in the process of making this bread,for which I have high hopes. I wanted to make the dough only in my machine but bake in the oven. I dont like the short fat loaves the machine produces. My dough is REALLY gummy and sticky though. I'm not sure if it's me, the machine, the air in my house... I will continue and update. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajourney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this bread per the recipe and found it to be very heavy, dense and no flavor. The top fell in and it was tasteless! I will never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Love this bread! I followed the recipe, but I used all purpose flour. French bread setting, medium crust. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Made a very small dense loaf. I took the advice of one of the reviewers and reduced the amount of water- probably a mistake since the dough seemed too dry during mixing and I had to add some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda from MA CT NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I tried this out last night without a bread machine, according to another reviewer's method, and it came out pretty good! I think it lacked a little in flavor, but made up for it in texture! It was nice and crispy on the outside, but soft and chewy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zombnomnom
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I have made this recipe several times in my 1 1/2 lb bread machine because it's my partner's favorite. However, like many other reviewers, it rose way too much. This time I decided to use the dough cycle and bake it in the oven, using dandyell's suggestion of 350 degrees for about 40 minutes on a lightly greased pan. I add some white pepper and Sylvia's seasoning, brushed some butter over the top towards the end of baking, and added a bit of cornmeal to the bottom. Perfection!!! The texture is soft and chewy, with a beautiful crust that's not too crisp. I made a delicious sandwich with it, and my partner is planning on devouring most of the loaf. I did have to add a little flour to the dough, but I'm also not a super precise measurer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States