Pears in Chocolate Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Awesome recipe even when using only 1/2 the sugar recommended in the recipe. A favorite from everyone in the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I thought the semi-sweet chocolat sauce worked very well with the sweeter pears. Will be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Great idea! My pears discolored a bit in the pot despite following the lemon juice instruction. I cored them from the bottom to keep the stems intact and only cooked mine for about 5 minutes before removing them from the heat - and they were perfectly tender without being mushy. I skipped the coffee liquor and maraschino, added a little vanilla to the chocolate and garnished with lemon zest and sugared almonds. Very pretty and delicious, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These were very good but I did use semi-sweet chocolate instead of the bitter since I didn't want my guests over powered with dark choc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was very good, but I ended up making a different chocolate sauce. I do not care for bittersweet chocolate, so I made it again with semi-sweet, a sliver of butter and a little milk. Much better. I cored the pears before cooking, and they were sweet and tender. I also garnished with fresh strawberries. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
I really didn't care for this recipe, but then I'm not a huge fan of pears. I found it a little too difficult to make for a so-so result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
I don't understand why you don't core the pears. This is a tasty recipe but could be easier to eat. Next time I will core them (and keep an eye on them in case they don't need 15 min. of cook time). Good chocolate sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
YUM! I'm not one for pears usually, but this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chocolate Sauce

See how to make delicious homemade chocolate sauce.

Chocolate Covered Strawberries

See how to make luscious chocolate-covered strawberries.

Chocolate Cappuccino Cheesecake

See how to make sinfully rich and chocolaty cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States