Pearl Baked Cream Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
These were ok but they we really sweet and they didn't absorb the cream so I had a cracker crust on top of pearl onion soup- maybe a little bit of flour would thicken it. If I were to make them again I might season the onions with some cayenne or chopped fresh garlic to make some spice to cut the sweetness because it really was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
FANTASTIC. I used fresh peal onions and followed package instructions (par boil 3 minutes, rinse, cut both ends and peel outer layer off) then proceeded with recipe exactly as written. I made it in a gratin dish and it looked positively inviting. It didn't disappoint! Served it with a cross rib roast and mashed sweet potatoes (the combo of this dish and the mashed sweet potatoes was out of this world on the plate) for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Wonderful!!!!!! Have had this recipe the unhomemade way for years (using jarred onions and white cream sauce packet) but I must say this was 10 times better then the other stuff.....Will definately make again The only thing I might do differently is add more cream to make it a little creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by felicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This dish is SO awesome.. I've made it for Thanksgiving the past several years and finally joined Allrecipes so I could rate it. It's top notch, savory, creamy and just absolutely to-die-for. I use fresh pearl onions and then boil/shock/peel as I have never found frozen - but the results are always A-1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minnersmom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
YUM!! Halved the recipe for my husband and myself, but wanted to make it a complete meal so w/10 minutes left of cooking time I added some thawed pre-cooked shrimp (seasoned w/salt, pepper, and garlic powder) and poured a little more milk and butter over it; then served it over brown rice. It was SO good. Thanks for the amazing & simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I made it ahead of time. Instead of heavy cream I used evaporated milk & flour to make a rough. Then added onions and baked just before serving. Awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
made this and it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I began making these for Thanksgiving 2007. My husband and brother-in-laws' families have always had onions at holiday dinners, and mine did not. They asked for some on the table, and I had no idea what to look for in a recipe. I was so fortunate to find this one! This recipe hit it out of the park! The first time I made them I par-boiled a TON of pearl onions and popped them out of the skins. I have come to find that the men didn't even noticed when I made the switched to jarred onions. Rich & delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Excellent. I have been looking for this recipe or Thanksgiving for years. This is the keeper. Because of space issues in the oven, I had to bake it the night before, reheat in the microwave then freshen up the crust with a few more crackers and butter for a last crisp in the oven. It was the first dish to go. Even my 10 year old loved it. I will also try adding some garlic for an Italian flare during the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Made this for Thanksgiving and everyone really liked it. I didnt chnage anything and it was a snap to make. I would add some seasoning next time. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States