Pearl Baked Cream Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I've been sitting here trying to think how to rate this... It's better than I could ever describe. Five stars doesn't do it justice. I made this for my wife when she came home from work and she raved about it... raved more than she has about anything I've fixed so far. Since there was only the two of us for dinner, I only made half of the recipe and I think either one of us could have gobbled up the entire thing. So next time, I'll make twice as much. I couldn't find frozen pearl oinons so I used fresh ones from the produce dept. I put them in boiling water for three minutes, then cooled them in cold water before attempting to peal them. That made the onions easy to peal. That also cut the extra baking time back down to the 50 minites for the fresh onions. I used Ritz Crackers because that's what I had on hand. After following the recipe exactly, I sprinkeled a light top layer of garlic bread crumbs over the top of the crackers just for the extra seasoning. The finished product was better than I could describe! I think I could fix this every single day and never tire of it. Thank you Sara for the best side dish I've fixed yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
The recipe did not specify fresh or frozen onions. I used fresh and had too cook it much longer, which in the end caused the cream to separate. This had a good taste to it I did add a couple of garlic cloves. Next time I will par boil the onions first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
this is one delicious recipe. i couldn't find frozen pearl onions. it would have been nice because peeling those little suckers wasn't easy. after having read the other reviews i steamed my onions first...till tender and then followed the recipe from there. i will make this again. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
This was delicious. My husband had eaten all of the "buttery round crackers" secretly, so I substituted saltines and left the salt out of the recipe. After baking, I sprinkled some crumbled garlic croutons over the top. I'll serve this wonderful, rich side dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
Such a yummy recipe my entire family loved it and went back for more! I used frozen small whole onions (like pearl) to save time and it turned out great. Can't wait to make it again at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
having had something extremely similar to this several times, I was excited to try out this recipe. I did alter it slightly by making a roux to thicken the sauce, and followed other reviewer's suggestion of simmering the cream with a crushed garlic clove and some bay leaves. The only thing that seemed off when the recipe was on the table were the onions themselves: they were like little oniony water balloons. Kinda yucky, and several of my family members commented on this. They were, however, sopping up the sauce with dinner rolls as it was excellent. I don't know if it would have helped to thaw the frozen onions first, or pierce them with a fork before baking, maybe? Next time, I might use thich slices of vidalia or something instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NUNPUNCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I made this today for Christmas dinner with a standing rib roast and Yorkshire pudding. It was the perfect accompaniment. This was so good. I made the recipe exactly as written, only thing different was I raised the oven temp to 400 for the last 20 minutes, but just because my oven was slow and everything else was almost ready. Will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUBBIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richeyville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was incredible! It is extremely rich so I will not be making it on a regular basis but is great for holidays when you don't mind the extra calories! I usually make creamed onions with cream of mushroom soup so this was a nice treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
OMG we just loved this! Being an onion lover, I am always looking for new ways to cook onions. This really didn't come out the way I expected, but it certainly made a beautiful presentation and was a treat for the holidays! We totally enjoyed this one! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Leuschner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I already like pearl onions, so it was pretty good, but very heavy. I could only eat a little bit with my main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States