Pear and Prosciutto Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
My family and friends love this pizza! I've made it several times, both as written and with adjustments, and it's always yummy and impressive-looking. If you want to save time, use the chopped roasted garlic in a jar, a Boboli-type crust and don't prebake the pears. Prebaking does have the advantage of drying the pears a bit, which can keep the crust from getting soggy. I've used goat's milk mozzarella before, which adds a little more tanginess. You can also make mini-sized pizzas and slice them thinly for an appetizer plate. Thanks for upping the creativity of my supper repetoire, Bostoncook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I will definitely make this again. My only suggestion is to cut the pears in thin slices, probably skipping the pre-baking of them. Those chunks were definitely too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elenchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
My whole family loved this dish, even my three year old. We will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gummibunny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I made this for an office party, and I was very nervous about pear on a pizza. I am new to cooking, and pears with prosciutto seemed beyond strange to me, but I figured I would try it to impress my new coworkers. I made one pizza as a tester, and it didn't last 20 minutes, between me, my boyfriend and his friend. It was excellent! I made two more pizzas to take to work, and everyone could not get enough! I even had to print out this recipe to give to a couple of women who were begging for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FITFreshNY

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Very excellent base recipe! Rated 4 stars instead of 5 for unnecessary prep time. I made a couple preparation changes which simplified and cut the time . 1. Whizzed olive oil and raw garlic with stick blender, spread on pizza crust and skipped the pre-baking garlic step . 2. Sliced pears thinly and skipped pre-baking them as well. They were nice and tender nonetheless. Substituted feta cheese for the mozzarella, which gave a great tangy-ness against the sweetness of the pears. My 14 y/o daughter said "this taste's awesome!" and hubby said, "you could open a restaurant with this pizza". Will definitely make again with the above changes. Thanks for the great idea, Bostoncook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
This pizza is soooo good! When first reading the ingredients, I didn't see how Swiss would be the right cheese for this pizza....but it was perfect. Making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Interesting tastes and would make a nice appetizer - I didn't use mozzarella, though, and used Gorgonzola instead as I like a stronger flavor with the pears. I also didn't cook the pears ahead of time as mine were very ripe - I think if I cooked them ahead, they would have been too mushy. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Corte Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This pizza was AWESOME. I was invited to a fig, pear, and beet party so this was perfect. The best part was the goat cheese mozz I used instead of cow's milk mozz!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Delicious. The pear flavor is subtle but adds just enough sweetness to complement the other ingredients nicely. The roasted garlic in the crust is a nice touch. I used a Pillsbury refrigerated crust and did not preheat the baking sheet. Otherwise I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was really good, I liked the combination of salty and sweet. I thin sliced the pears, and I also raosted the garlic and cooked the pears at the same time in the oven. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States