Pear and Gorgonzola Cheese Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
This is an AMAZING recipie! It is so easy and very delicious! Here are a few alterations I suggest making however. Stretch the pizza dough to fit a large cookie sheet. Double the amount of provolone cheese because you will need extra to cover the stretched pizza dough. You will also need to double the amount of pears, walnuts and gorgonzola. Stretching the dough makes the crust not as thick and really improves the presentation of the pizza (as well as the taste). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Very nice blend of flavors- interesting and, dare I say it, adult. Far too many recipes, I think, lack _complexity_ in flavor. They're salty, or sweet, or a combination thereof most people refer to as _savory_. This, really, is none of the above. It has a sort of _depth_ to it. None of the flavors in the mix are _simple_. Pear is not merely sweet, Gorgonzola not merely cheesy, etc. Taken together, this recipe creates a nice warm gestalt... I liked it a lot, and plan to make it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendall Gray

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
My husband (who was very unsure of this unusual pizza) and I loved it! Great sweet/savory combination. I used cornmeal under the crust (for crunch and to keep it from sticking to the pan) and pre-baked it for 6 minutes. I also rubbed a garlic clove on the crust and brushed it with olive oil before adding the toppings. Great pizza! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I loved this recipe but made a few changes using what I had at hand.I sliced whole wheat pita bread in half and toasted it, then sprayed with olive oil spray and spread dijon mustard on the toasted bread. I than used sliced gouda cheese and topped with sliced pears, added carmelized onions on top as well as gorgonzola cheese and chopped walnuts.Than put in toaster oven at 350 until cheese melted. Yummy! Thanks Brian
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I served this at a "girl party" and it was well received. I swirled some olive oil over the crust and then doubled the topping ingredients. I agree that baking the crust a bit before adding the toppings is a good idea. The center was a bit soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
FABULOUS! Made it on a rectangular piece of stoneware - cut it into squares, served it at a cocktail party - it was a hit - everyone wanted the recipe. I added carmelized onions and used pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2001
Excellent blending of flavors. A unique appitizer to serve to company. I used a bit more gorgonzola than listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Outstanding. Followed recipe exactly. Everyone raved about it at a bridal shower! Use Trader Joe's pizza dough sold "balled up" in a plastic bag in the refrigerated section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
I served this pizza at a wine and cheese party I had. It was gone in a matter of minutes, and people even called the next day to tell me how much they loved it! I might suggest cooking the dough a bit before adding the toppings because mine was undercooked at first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
I served this at a party and it was a big hit. I also thought it was easy to put together. People who don't normally like Gorgonzola loved the combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States