Pear and Gorgonzola Cheese Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Delicious! I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheesemite
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I had such a craving for this, and it was pure bliss. I added some caramelized onions, used pecans (I never have walnuts), and cooked the pear slices in a little bit of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This recipe reminds me of an appetizer I had at a fancy and expensive Denver joint. Two things I would tweak is to add carmalized onions and instead of pizza dough, use flat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I paired this with the "Bread Machine Pizza Dough" recipe and it came out great! We ate it for dinner, but it would really be perfect as an appetizer at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I used to order a pizzetta very similar to this at my favorite swanky lounge in Santa Cruz. They recently took it off the menu, so I have been trying to satisfy my cravings for it every once in a while with this recipe. The cheese can get very greasy, so I would recommend putting a very thin layer of flour on the dough before you put the cheese on; it will absorb some of the grease. I've tried using Asian pears, as well as Bartlett, and Green Anjou, and they've all been delicious in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Los Gofres

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
the flavor combos on this pizza were awesome! I made it on a really easy quick yeast crust...delicous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barngurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
FIRST: I've made this numerous times, and people always ask for the recipe. SECOND: This is a gourmet treat. If you make this expecting "pizza," you will be disappointed. Do not add sauce to this. If you want pizza with sauce and mozzarella, this is not your recipe. WHY I LOVE THIS RECIPE: It is unlike anything you will be served at any one else's home. I normally make it as an appetizer. The ingredients are incredible together -- provolone, pears, gorgonzola. I have found that it tastes better and better the longer it has been sitting out. Fresh from the oven, it's good. Once it cools down and the flavors meld, it's AWESOME. MY TIP: I definitely dice the pears so the flavor is spread across the entire pizza crust, and so it can be more easily eaten with fingers. NOTE: This is very sweet. A little bit goes a long way. I make it, cut into bite-sized pieces and people munch on it through the night at parties. TRY IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montrod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was great! I've never had pears on a pizza before. I doubled the gorgonzola because I love it and left out the provolone because I didn't have any. Some other reviews suggested it needed some kind of sauce...I brushed olive oil on the crust (a Boboli-style) and put a thin layer of plain yogurt. I thought it was perfect! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Interesting flavor combination. It would be a great appetizer, but eating as part of a meal...not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This was a huge hit at my dinner party as an appitizer. The guests I had were very picky but they raved about this and ate it all. I will be making this very often I am sure. I pre-baked the crust beforehand as reccomended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Rib-Sticking Casseroles
Rib-Sticking Casseroles

They'll love a nice casserole tonight. Choose from over 1,200 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States