Pear and Gorgonzola Cheese Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Agree with the comments about making the crust thinner and baking it alone first for a few minutes... once I figured that out it was fabulous! Will definitely make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This was really great. I used mozzarella rather than provolone which probably wasn't as amazing but worked and left out the walnuts. My husband who was very skeptical said he was surprised at how much he liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
very tasty pizza. having just learned to make pizza dough, we've made and eaten A LOT of pizza the last couple of weeks. this is our favorite. we didn't do this but we thought that caramelized onions would make a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
If there were 6 stars, this one would get it!! We LOVED this recipe!! What an original combination! The only adjustment we made was actually an error-- my husband, thinking that since it's pizza it needs tomato sauce, had put the sauce on the crust before I noticed, so we had it with tomato sauce-- it turned out fantastic in any case, and we will be repeating this as often as our waistlines allow :) I also think this woud be great cut up into small slices as appetizers. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
All time favorite for pizza night! We use pre-made thin crust wheat pizza crust, brush with olive oil, replace the provolone with sliced Havarti and add sauteed onion, leaving off the chives. Soo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicanddoc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Loved it! Thank goodness for this recipe-it fills the void from California Pizza Kitchen closing! I used red onion instead of chives, but other than that, stuck with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Scurlock Smith

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This has been my favorit go-to recipe for parties and potlucks for at least 3 years. It's a HIT every time I make it. I've tweaked it a number of ways, and most recently made these adjustments: Toasted the walnuts, brushed the dough with melted butter and added a bit of course sea salt. Also added some chopped fresh Rosemary, and finally, drizzled with honey before serving. It was deee-lish, and it got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pariah
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Amazing recipe. I only wish I had wine to go with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pariah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
This is a favorite style of pizza for myself. It is also good with candied pecans subsituted for the walnuts. Add fresh argula before serving really gives it a unique flavorful twist. I had never used the balsamic viniger with this recipe but I really like it as a tasty addition. If you haven't tried this style of pizza, you must. Even if you think you do not like blue chesses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
I've made a similar recipe many times, however, I've purchased Gluten Free pizza rounds, more like flat bread from my local Fruitful Yield store. They're a little pricey, but really come out great. As other reviewers said, I also skip the nuts, drizzle Balsamic (aged 12 yrs tastes the best!) and I also spread a very thin layer of pear butter on the flatbread. To die for! My kids love them too. two tween aged boys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States