Pear and Gorgonzola Cheese Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I make this recipe all of the time, and it is always a huge hit. It is the easiest recipe there is...it literally takes 10 minutes. I use Pillsbury crust and always add Emerald Original walnuts. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
It was good. I used cream cheese instead of provolone, so it was a bit dry. Maybe next time I will add some kind of preserves to the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melpy
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
This was great. Don't use a pillsbury crust. Chopped the pears instead of slices per other reviews. Added chicken that had been seasoned and very lightly coated in olive oil and balsamic to 2/3 of the pizza and tried part as written in the recipe. One chicken breast is enough for 1 pizza. We liked it much better with the chicken. Forgot completely about the walnuts until just now when I went to rate the recipe. Obviously didn't miss them but probably wouldhave been a nice addition to the section without the chicken for some protein and some toasty flavor. Would like to make again. If worried about the toppings falling off put the cheese on top. Yum two of us at teh whole thing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melpy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkridge, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
This is like my favorite pizza froma restaurant. Love it, but definately bake the crust for a few minutes first, I add carmelized onions and use hazelnuts instead of walnuts. A lot of reviewers talked about adding a sauce of some kind, instead of a sauce, try topping the pizza with mixed field greens tossed with a blue cheese or ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
This is really good! I think pecans or almonds are a bit better than walnuts. Right before I served the pizza a piled an herb salad mix on top and drizzled it with a litte olive oil and balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
My husband (who was very unsure of this unusual pizza) and I loved it! Great sweet/savory combination. I used cornmeal under the crust (for crunch and to keep it from sticking to the pan) and pre-baked it for 6 minutes. I also rubbed a garlic clove on the crust and brushed it with olive oil before adding the toppings. Great pizza! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canon City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I feel sort of "left out" after reading the reviews. Maybe it's just because it's not my sort of thing, but I didn't really like this. Neither did my boyfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This was a very special/fancy appetizer. It got great reviews from those I served it to at our party. Very unique and not a dish seen at every party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I did everything by the recipe, except I used carmelized onions and prebaked the crust a few minutes, as everyone suggested. I really liked it, but my guests weren't that impressed. I was surprised it didn't go over very well. I have to give it two stars. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BeefJerkins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Sounded great and couldn't wait to try it. I even bought double the amount so I could try it out before my holiday party. Glad I did. This recipe needs some serious "tweaking". I found it bland, bland, bland. Defintely needs a sauce or something. Threw most of it away. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States