Pear and Gorgonzola Cheese Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
Very very good. I ended up using a red pear, as I had no bosc pears on hand...but the result was fantastic. For the crust, I used the Pizza Dough II recipe and prebaked for ~10 min prior to adding toppings. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Darn this is good and so quick and easy. We prefer thin crust. The Zpizza chain sells similar on flat bread. It's OK, but not as good as this homemade. Be sure to include the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VirginiaGent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I made this recipe as is and it turned out devine! Pears and gorgonzola are a match made in heaven! I think any nuts would be good, but I used hazelnuts. I don't think you can go wrong with this combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I cannot say enough good things about this recipe. DEFINITELY one of the best recipes from AR that I've made. I did make a few changes. First of all, as previously mentioned, I baked the pizza crust for 6 minutes before adding the toppings. I also lowered the baking temperature to 400 degrees. Once it had baked for 6 minutes, I removed it from the oven and rubbed some EVOO and 2 cloves of garlic onto the crust. Then I substituted dried chives for fresh, and used pecans instead of walnuts. Once the pizza was removed from the oven, I drizzled the slices lightly with a balsamic reduction. Everyone loved the presentation of this pizza, and thought it was very sophisticated and yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chanteltbarrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Roberts, Newfoundland, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Made some minor changes to the recipe. I used a large Boboli, brushed it with olive oil and layered as described, added some sauted sweet oninons, and I used Hazelnuts instead of walnuts on the top. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Delicious! I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cheesemite
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
I had such a craving for this, and it was pure bliss. I added some caramelized onions, used pecans (I never have walnuts), and cooked the pear slices in a little bit of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheesemite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coldwater, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
This recipe reminds me of an appetizer I had at a fancy and expensive Denver joint. Two things I would tweak is to add carmalized onions and instead of pizza dough, use flat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
I paired this with the "Bread Machine Pizza Dough" recipe and it came out great! We ate it for dinner, but it would really be perfect as an appetizer at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I used to order a pizzetta very similar to this at my favorite swanky lounge in Santa Cruz. They recently took it off the menu, so I have been trying to satisfy my cravings for it every once in a while with this recipe. The cheese can get very greasy, so I would recommend putting a very thin layer of flour on the dough before you put the cheese on; it will absorb some of the grease. I've tried using Asian pears, as well as Bartlett, and Green Anjou, and they've all been delicious in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Los Gofres

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 71-80 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States