Pear and Gorgonzola Cheese Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was absolutely fabulous! I must say, I was skeptical, but you have to try it to be convinced! I almost omitted the walnuts, as I felt they were just too weird, but they made the pizza perfectly balanced! I made a homemade crust (Pizza Dough I from this site - see my tips on the review), and it was amazing. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by derbyka
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Great recipe. Just like the pear and Gorgonzola pizza at California Pizza Kitchen. I used a mixture of smoked provolone, mozzarella, and Parmesan. I also added caramelized onions since they do that at the restaurant. It brings together the sweetness of the pear and the saltiness of the other things. Tip - saute the pear a minute or 2 in a pan on medium heat (I did it after I made the onions). It helps caramelize the outsides and bring out the sweetness since they don't always get done all the way in the oven. This is especially helpful when you don't have a great tasting pear. I cooked this pizza on the grill and it had an amazing smoking flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I really love Pear and Gorgonzola together so knew I wanted to try this recipe. I also read lots of reviews first and they influenced my approach. I wanted to try the recipe as written but also wanted to modify so I did both - a half and half approach. After trying it both ways - literally side by side - I have to say that we liked the modified version better. The original is GOOD - subtle, yet flavorful. The modified side included 4 changes - lightly brushing the prebaked crust with olive oil, the addition of carmelized onions, extra gorgonzola, and a sprinkling of excellent quality balsamic after baking. Those changes take the recipe from good to Excellent! Even though the creator of the recipe calls it an appetizer pizza - it was our main course along with a green salad. A perfect, light early summer dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This was very good and a refreshing change! I've had this recipe in my box for about a year and have been afraid to try it. I shouldn't have! I used the Quick and Easy pizza crust recipe from this site. I also went to the grocery store with the sole purpose of buying a pear for this recipe, so of course i forgot it! Drained and sliced a can of pears and it was still awesome. Next time I will double the toppings, as this was very crusty, and perhaps add a little garlic for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I make this frequently for potlucks and usually leave with an empty plate. I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I really thought I would like this more than I did. Bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Yummy! This recipe is SO easy and SO good! My hubby, who normally wouldn't like something like this really enjoyed it. I just bought the pre-made thin crust at the store and whipped it all together. Can't beat an easy recipe like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I've had this in restaurants before, so I was glad to see this online. However, I thought it didn't have enough gorgonzola or walnuts, and it was missing the balsamic glaze I've always had with this pizza. It tasted good this way, but was just "okay" compared to the way I've had it in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Very nice and simple to make. I added a drizzle of balsamic vinegar before cooking. Next time I think I'll add a balsamic reduction to give it a bit more punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I made this as written, except I chose to dice my pear for easier eating. I was prepared to LOVE this, yet really didn't. We enjoyed it, but weren't blown away by it (in fact, over 1/2 of it is still sitting uneaten in the kitchen). It was a nice change of pace, but I'm not sure it will see much action in the LTH appetizer rotation. For me, I think it was the walnuts I wasn't a fan of. If I make it again, I think I'll try almonds in lieu of walnuts. THANKS for the recipe, Brian Golden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Philly Cheese Steak Pizza

Grab a slice of Philly Cheese Steak pizza!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States