Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Nice combo, made it for Thanksgiving Dinner and it was a hit. However since I made this salad before, I modified a few things based on it being soupy and limp after sitting for 20 minutes waiting for dinner to be ready. There is too much dressing, and also I used a 50:50 combo of romaine and chopped kale so it can stand up to the acidic vinegar base. I used spring greens last year, and it was just sad and limp. Also I used olive oil instead of walnut, which worked just fine; sweet onions instead of red because they taste better. Finally I added dried cranberries for an additional fall touch. Just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaMG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This is the perfect fall salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Family favorite. We love it. One of the best salads I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWUER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
This is fantastic! I made everything as listed; the dressing was just perfect. I brought it to a dinner party and it was the dish everyone commented on. As others said, for this size salad you only need about half the dressing the recipe makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Made this recipe for a dinner party and it was FANTASTIC!! Definitely going to make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This was a really tasty salad. Used candied walnuts instead of pecans (I was being lazy and buying them instead of making them) and added grilled chicken (salt, pepper & lemon juice), otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I ended up using 1/2 of the dressing, saving the remainder for another day. We grilled some good Italian bread and made a meal of it and 3 of us ate the whole thing, with DH wishing there was more. An excellent late summer meal for when it's too hot to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbxxiv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Fantastic. I added diced chicken to turn it into a light summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
GREAT! I also subbed honey for maple syrup, but did not add any brown sugar as we like our blue cheese dressing not as sweet. Will make again. I also served the dressing with a wedge of iceberg lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvstocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Wonderful salad! I added some avocado and Bac-O's. You could add any number of things to this classic for variation. When I didn't have pear, I put in some apple, and that was not too bad either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywoodartchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
In place of the walnut oil, I used EVOO and went a little heavier with it. Great dressing for this type of salad. The candied pecans I used had some spice to them, and that just added another dimension of flavor. Thanks for the great recipe, SPERL25! Just love these large, healthy salads for lunch or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States