Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This was a really tasty salad. Used candied walnuts instead of pecans (I was being lazy and buying them instead of making them) and added grilled chicken (salt, pepper & lemon juice), otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I ended up using 1/2 of the dressing, saving the remainder for another day. We grilled some good Italian bread and made a meal of it and 3 of us ate the whole thing, with DH wishing there was more. An excellent late summer meal for when it's too hot to cook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbxxiv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
Fantastic. I added diced chicken to turn it into a light summer dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
GREAT! I also subbed honey for maple syrup, but did not add any brown sugar as we like our blue cheese dressing not as sweet. Will make again. I also served the dressing with a wedge of iceberg lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvstocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Wonderful salad! I added some avocado and Bac-O's. You could add any number of things to this classic for variation. When I didn't have pear, I put in some apple, and that was not too bad either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollywoodartchick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
In place of the walnut oil, I used EVOO and went a little heavier with it. Great dressing for this type of salad. The candied pecans I used had some spice to them, and that just added another dimension of flavor. Thanks for the great recipe, SPERL25! Just love these large, healthy salads for lunch or dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I don't think this could be any better! Everyone loved it! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sukey
Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Excellent winter salad. I left out the pecans but added fresh mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I made it once for dinner for a small group of friends. It was the favourite dish of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I don't usually comment on recipes. But this one is so Awesome I had to! I really don't want anything for dinner except this salad. Maybe lunch, too! I didn't add the pear, which I am sure would make it even better. I totally forgot. And I used olive oil because it is what I had. I bought already candied pecans at Trader Joes and chopped them. definitely something I will make many times. Maybe even for Superbowl!! Go HAWKS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I found this recipe on this site last year and have been making it ever since. It gets rave reviews every time I serve it! Any pear will do if you can't get Bosc. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States