Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I made this salad to take to a holiday dinner, but I made it first just for my family to make sure that we liked it. I made a recipe to serve 6. When I took the salad to the holiday dinner I increased the recipe to serve 12, but I still made the dressing according to the recipe for 6 and there was plenty of dressing for the larger amount of salad ingredients. This is our new favorite salad recipe. I was a little hesitant when I started pricing walnut oil at the grocery stores, but I saw it at three different stores for 3 different prices ranging from $3.99-$11.95. I would definitely use the walnut oil and not substitute another type of oil. I can't wait to find more recipes calling for walnut oil. It really adds a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
New recipe, but every time I have served it guests have asked for the recipe. Good dressing and it makes enough for additional uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Stanfield, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This is quite good. The flavors really work well together. People that don't normally like salad ask for seconds of this --even after the main course! The dressing makes a lot though. Can re-use for other salads or cut in half would be plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
The salad tasted delicious! The only modification I may make is to add more than 10 oz. of lettuce. I may use a bag and a half (i.e., 17 oz.) next time. Other than that, this salad is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Love this salad, with all the goodies. I used the "candy coated pecans" from this website, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Instead of using candied peacans I bought sliced almonds and candied them myself with sugar and a little bit of butter and it turned out great!! Eventhough I would like to try it with a balsamic-based dressing. I'll try it and keep you posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Better than 5 stars!!! I made this salad exactly as it's listed and it was awesome. I had a ton of dressing left over. Since there are so many great ingredients and flavors in this salad a little bit of dressing went a long way. All of the ingredients in this salad complimented each other. I will pass this recipe off to my friends and definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Excellent recipe. The dressing is outstanding. I served it to my guests for dinner last night along with Baked Almond Chicken over Fettuccine - they loved it and asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Pike

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I took this to a friend's house, it was great!!! Made it just a recipe says, makes alot of dressing. But very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I double everything except the dressing since I had 10 guests to feed--EVERYONE from my 6 year old daughter to the guests from South Africa and Monaco raved and asked for the recipe and for seconds. This salad was a request from my husband for his birthday dinner. I had to make the sugar pecans, and was lucky to have a dribble of maple syrup left! "BEST SALAD EVER!!" said my 16 year old son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States