Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I made this salad to take to a holiday dinner, but I made it first just for my family to make sure that we liked it. I made a recipe to serve 6. When I took the salad to the holiday dinner I increased the recipe to serve 12, but I still made the dressing according to the recipe for 6 and there was plenty of dressing for the larger amount of salad ingredients. This is our new favorite salad recipe. I was a little hesitant when I started pricing walnut oil at the grocery stores, but I saw it at three different stores for 3 different prices ranging from $3.99-$11.95. I would definitely use the walnut oil and not substitute another type of oil. I can't wait to find more recipes calling for walnut oil. It really adds a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Cha-ching! I loved this - everyone loved it. Only thing I did differently is I subbed honey for the maple syrup which I always do when it's called for in any recipe and I used just a bit less brown sugar. I can't stand the flavor of maple syrup anywhere but on my pancakes. This dressing was excellent, unique and complimented the ingredients of this salad perfectly. This will be made often. Thanks Sperl25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Essentially this salad is all about the dressing, the toppings are just delicious accessories. Having no walnut oil, I used pecan oil, but kept all other ingredients the same. Once emulsified, I found the dressing too sweet, but didn't want to add additional vinegar, so I squeezed in about a tsp. of grainy dijon mustard. By doing so, the sweetness was reduced and it perfectly balanced the brown sugar/ maple notes. I tossed red leaf lettuce in the dressing, added sliced pears and topped with crumbled goat cheese. Simple, a little different and even holiday-table worthy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Better than 5 stars!!! I made this salad exactly as it's listed and it was awesome. I had a ton of dressing left over. Since there are so many great ingredients and flavors in this salad a little bit of dressing went a long way. All of the ingredients in this salad complimented each other. I will pass this recipe off to my friends and definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is my favorite salad to make but definitely just use half the dressing or it is too 'soupy' and lettuce will become wilted. I don't keep walnut oil on hand so I use olive oil in the dressing and it is just fine. I make this as a main course by adding about 1/4 cup dried cherries or cranberries, torn rotisserie chicken that I pick up at the store, and serve it with a baked sweet potato. For the candied pecans, I use the Spicy Mixed Nuts from this site. It's an easy and delicious meal that doesn't keep me in the kitchen after working all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
My family and I love this recipe with a few simple adjustments. First, we double the amount of salad because the amount of dressing this makes is way too much for just one bag. Or we refrigerate the unused dressing a air tight container. Second, I don't use the red onion. Third, and most importantly, I just use 1/6 cup of apple cider vinegar or the flavor is overwhelming. Oh and baby greens or spring mix are the best mixes for this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I made this salad for a gathering and it was the hit of the meal. Everyone asked for the recipe and on a scale of 1 to 10 said it was an 11. Here are my modifications. I did not candy the pecans. Just roasted at 375 for about 6-8 minutes. I had to switch the cheese to feta for one person, and I think blue cheese would be better, but for those who don't like blue cheese, this is still a great option. I also used light mayo, but did buy roasted walnut oil and pure maple syrup for the dressing. The second time around I don't think pure maple syrup is necessary. And EVOO could be fine as a substitute for the walnut oil, but maybe not quite as good. It makes enough for more than two salads, but I can't wait to eat some tonight with dinner. Really yummy. It may be my new go-to salad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
great salad didn't change a thing except used pancake syrup instead of real maple and it was just fine on the sweet side but delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bamsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Yum! So easy and really tasty. The dressing is delicious on any salad. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is so good. So simple and will impress everyone you serve it to. I omit the onions because of personal taste. The candied pecans are my favorite part of the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States