Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
The salad tasted delicious! The only modification I may make is to add more than 10 oz. of lettuce. I may use a bag and a half (i.e., 17 oz.) next time. Other than that, this salad is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I made this salad to take to a holiday dinner, but I made it first just for my family to make sure that we liked it. I made a recipe to serve 6. When I took the salad to the holiday dinner I increased the recipe to serve 12, but I still made the dressing according to the recipe for 6 and there was plenty of dressing for the larger amount of salad ingredients. This is our new favorite salad recipe. I was a little hesitant when I started pricing walnut oil at the grocery stores, but I saw it at three different stores for 3 different prices ranging from $3.99-$11.95. I would definitely use the walnut oil and not substitute another type of oil. I can't wait to find more recipes calling for walnut oil. It really adds a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Love this salad, with all the goodies. I used the "candy coated pecans" from this website, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
New recipe, but every time I have served it guests have asked for the recipe. Good dressing and it makes enough for additional uses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Umatilla, Oregon, USA
Living In: Stanfield, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This is quite good. The flavors really work well together. People that don't normally like salad ask for seconds of this --even after the main course! The dressing makes a lot though. Can re-use for other salads or cut in half would be plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Instead of using candied peacans I bought sliced almonds and candied them myself with sugar and a little bit of butter and it turned out great!! Eventhough I would like to try it with a balsamic-based dressing. I'll try it and keep you posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Macry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama, Panama Province, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Better than 5 stars!!! I made this salad exactly as it's listed and it was awesome. I had a ton of dressing left over. Since there are so many great ingredients and flavors in this salad a little bit of dressing went a long way. All of the ingredients in this salad complimented each other. I will pass this recipe off to my friends and definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Excellent recipe. The dressing is outstanding. I served it to my guests for dinner last night along with Baked Almond Chicken over Fettuccine - they loved it and asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Pike

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I took this to a friend's house, it was great!!! Made it just a recipe says, makes alot of dressing. But very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I double everything except the dressing since I had 10 guests to feed--EVERYONE from my 6 year old daughter to the guests from South Africa and Monaco raved and asked for the recipe and for seconds. This salad was a request from my husband for his birthday dinner. I had to make the sugar pecans, and was lucky to have a dribble of maple syrup left! "BEST SALAD EVER!!" said my 16 year old son.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States