Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is my favorite salad to make but definitely just use half the dressing or it is too 'soupy' and lettuce will become wilted. I don't keep walnut oil on hand so I use olive oil in the dressing and it is just fine. I make this as a main course by adding about 1/4 cup dried cherries or cranberries, torn rotisserie chicken that I pick up at the store, and serve it with a baked sweet potato. For the candied pecans, I use the Spicy Mixed Nuts from this site. It's an easy and delicious meal that doesn't keep me in the kitchen after working all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
So good! The dressings a lot of work and calls for some weird ingredients but it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is so good. So simple and will impress everyone you serve it to. I omit the onions because of personal taste. The candied pecans are my favorite part of the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very good, but strong...go light on the onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Excellent salad! I diced the pear, and had to leave out the cheese to accomodate a special request, and it was still delicious and popular -- the guests all wanted more. I was afraid the dressing would be too sweet, but it was a perfect balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
When I first read this recipe, I nearly passed on making the salad dressing because I wasn't sure about dressing made with maple syrup. Thankfully I tried it anyway, because by doing so I found what is my favorite salad recipe by a mile! This dressing is out of this world delicious! It does not taste like maple syrup on salad - it is just a wonderful blend of spicy and sweet. I made this salad for 3-4 parties during the Christmas season, and every time this salad was completely devoured and folks were asking me for the recipe. A permanent favorite for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is a wonderful salad. The dressing is top notch. I had almost everyone asking me for the recipe at a party I made this for. I've made it quite a few times now. I do think that using miracle whip light makes a big difference. The one time I used another mayo, it just did not taste right. I've always used the walnut oil as stated in the recipe. You will not be disappointed with this salad. It tastes like your dining in a fancy restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
i loved the dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States