Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is my new favorite salad. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Essentially this salad is all about the dressing, the toppings are just delicious accessories. Having no walnut oil, I used pecan oil, but kept all other ingredients the same. Once emulsified, I found the dressing too sweet, but didn't want to add additional vinegar, so I squeezed in about a tsp. of grainy dijon mustard. By doing so, the sweetness was reduced and it perfectly balanced the brown sugar/ maple notes. I tossed red leaf lettuce in the dressing, added sliced pears and topped with crumbled goat cheese. Simple, a little different and even holiday-table worthy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is my favorite salad to make but definitely just use half the dressing or it is too 'soupy' and lettuce will become wilted. I don't keep walnut oil on hand so I use olive oil in the dressing and it is just fine. I make this as a main course by adding about 1/4 cup dried cherries or cranberries, torn rotisserie chicken that I pick up at the store, and serve it with a baked sweet potato. For the candied pecans, I use the Spicy Mixed Nuts from this site. It's an easy and delicious meal that doesn't keep me in the kitchen after working all day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Great salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
So good! The dressings a lot of work and calls for some weird ingredients but it is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This is so good. So simple and will impress everyone you serve it to. I omit the onions because of personal taste. The candied pecans are my favorite part of the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very good, but strong...go light on the onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Excellent salad! I diced the pear, and had to leave out the cheese to accomodate a special request, and it was still delicious and popular -- the guests all wanted more. I was afraid the dressing would be too sweet, but it was a perfect balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
When I first read this recipe, I nearly passed on making the salad dressing because I wasn't sure about dressing made with maple syrup. Thankfully I tried it anyway, because by doing so I found what is my favorite salad recipe by a mile! This dressing is out of this world delicious! It does not taste like maple syrup on salad - it is just a wonderful blend of spicy and sweet. I made this salad for 3-4 parties during the Christmas season, and every time this salad was completely devoured and folks were asking me for the recipe. A permanent favorite for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELPRES

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States