Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Since I didn't have walnut oil, I substituted toasted walnuts for the candied pecans. The salad was delicious, and the dressing sweet/tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was amazing, made it exactly as written. Had way too much dressing though for this one salad. But we used it again the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
Absolutely fantastic! I didn't have any walnut oil, so I used peanut oil, was tasty! This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Absolutely delicious! My husband doesn't like blue cheese so I used our local grocery's brand of "four cheese Italian." (Mozzarella, Provolone, Parmesan, Romano) I also didn't have walnut oil and used light olive oil instead. Overall, it still was outstanding! Proof from my very picky eater hubby: "Is there more?" We have plenty of dressing now and I think we just may have this salad again tomorrow night! Thanks for a great recipe. It's going into my regular rotation. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spicy Italian

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I could drink this dressing .... I just poured it over arugula / strawberries / almonds / sunflower seeds / crispy bacon and feta for my lunch and WOW I can hardly wait to go get me some pears and blue cheese ....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Fantastic salad. Made it for a summer party and have people begging for the recipe. Only change in the recipe that I've done is less red onion, used honey instead of maple syrup, and used olive oil instead of walnut oil. Incredible! Will make again and again and again! Thanks SPERL25!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Made this last night. My daughter was visiting and tried it-on protest. She started by saying.. "You know, I don't really like any of the stuff in that salad but I will try it anyway".. She had two servings and took ingredients home to make more for lunch tomorrow! Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I've made this twice now and loved it both times. The 2nd time I took eliminated the mayo and red onion, so the kids liked it better. I missed the red onion, but I liked it better without the mayo. Also, I used olive oil instead of walnut oil the 2nd time and didn't notice enough of a difference to use the walnut. Yummy! Everyone asks for the recipe whenever I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Excellent!!! I used candied pecans (because I cant find candied walnuts anymore at my store) and they were tasty. I also used Gorgonzola instead of Blue Cheese--same thing essentially, but Gorgonzola has a creamier, milder taste. Dont skip the walnut oil; it adds so much to this recipe. My husband LOVED it! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I've made this salad seven or eight times and taken it to group dinners. Each time, everyone raves about the flavor combinations and elegance of this salad. The first time that I made it, I didn't have walnut oil. When I made it using the walnut oil, it was superb! My family could tell the difference, so now I keep walnut oil in the fridge just for this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momtamc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orleans, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States