Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Great. My BF loved it and kept making compliments as he was eating. I made some adjustments: used only red lettuce, didn´t add any oil to the dressing, since I thought it was enough with the mayo, mixed the dressing in a glass bottle and served it there so everyone could put the dressing as liked. Now I have enough dressing for another salad. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly
Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Moravia, San Jose , Costa Rica
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
awesome- tangy, yet creamy vinaigrette that doesn't feel too heavy. not to mention cheese-nut-fruit combo always makes a wonderful salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This was so delicious. I did have to make a couple changes due to what I had on hand. I used romaine and baby spinach for my greens. I used regular walnuts instead of candied pecans. I didn't have any walnut oil either so I blended some walnuts into the dressing mixture in step one until they were totally puréed.. I then used white truffle oil in place of walnut oil. My husband was very impressed. Can't wait to try this with the intended ingredients as per directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Delish! I made it exactly as the recipe states, except that we only used about half of the dressing on the salad, and that I only used 1/8 cup of walnut oil due to the cost. It was very good that way and I didn't notice it lacking anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jgbeck
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Terrific combination for a salad. I used arugula instead of field greens because I was serving with grilled beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgbeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
LOVED this salad! I made the dressing exactly as directed, but living in Central Ameria I could not find bleu cheese or Bosc pears for the salad at the local market. However, I was able to find queso fresco cheese (similar to feta) and Ginger Gold apples which I used in place of the pears and bleu cheese. Tasted wonderful! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Ignacio, Cayo District, Belize
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I was intrigued by all the high ratings for this salad. I am NOT a salad person but this was by far the best salad that I've ever put out. For this first time ever--*I* went back for seconds in lieu of the meat! Everyone at the table (okay--there were only four of us) completely devoured this salad before moving onto the rest of dinner. Absolutely a keeper. BTW-I did spring for the (rather) expensive walnut oil and I made the caramelized pecans that I saw in another review (1/4 cup sugar, 1.5 TBP water, 1 cup pecans) and it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I had a very similar salad a few nights ago and it called to make your own caramelized pecans. I did 1 cup of pecans, 1/4 cup of white sugar and 1.5 tbsp of water. You mix it in a pot until it's caramelized. They turned out AMAZING! But I was thinking next time I'd try maybe adding a little brown sugar and cinnamon. You could also try adding some honey that is a little watered down. Anyway, I use pink lady apples instead of pears and gorgonzola instead of blue cheese. Pink ladies are the best type of apple, i use them in salads and sandwiches all the time. they aren't tart like other apples. anyway, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
We love it and get asked for the recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Draper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I've made this salad probably 5 times now and everyone I've served it to LOVES it. I don't have walnut oil, so I've only ever made it with almond oil, but it's super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States