Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This is one of the best salads I have ever made. My husband and I both like the blue cheese. Some of our friends and family don't care for blue cheese so I switch to feta on those occasions. I often keep the dressing made ahead for other salads. It is best to have a firm but fully ripened pear. I use walnut oil but I feel sure any oil will work just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Super sweet!! I loved it though - next time cut the sugar by half, or even altogether. Cut the salt by half, used regular pecans, not candied. The pear, maple syrup, cider vinegar and bleu cheese together is extraordinary!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
My sister brought this for Christmas dinner exactly as the recipe states. Even those who don't normally take too many veggies loved it! It went perfect with Prime Rib, although I will make it with whatever and whenever! It does make a lot of dressing. Can cut those ingredients by half probably.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
It was really good, but there definitely was too much apple-cider vinegar for my taste. I am going to make it again and 1/2 the vinegar and see if that does the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
yumm. i exchanged walnut oil for olive oil because i didnt have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Great. My BF loved it and kept making compliments as he was eating. I made some adjustments: used only red lettuce, didn´t add any oil to the dressing, since I thought it was enough with the mayo, mixed the dressing in a glass bottle and served it there so everyone could put the dressing as liked. Now I have enough dressing for another salad. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zuly
Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Living In: Moravia, San Jose , Costa Rica
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
awesome- tangy, yet creamy vinaigrette that doesn't feel too heavy. not to mention cheese-nut-fruit combo always makes a wonderful salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
This was so delicious. I did have to make a couple changes due to what I had on hand. I used romaine and baby spinach for my greens. I used regular walnuts instead of candied pecans. I didn't have any walnut oil either so I blended some walnuts into the dressing mixture in step one until they were totally puréed.. I then used white truffle oil in place of walnut oil. My husband was very impressed. Can't wait to try this with the intended ingredients as per directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Delish! I made it exactly as the recipe states, except that we only used about half of the dressing on the salad, and that I only used 1/8 cup of walnut oil due to the cost. It was very good that way and I didn't notice it lacking anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jgbeck
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Terrific combination for a salad. I used arugula instead of field greens because I was serving with grilled beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jgbeck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States