Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This salad is wonderful, we loved it! I didn't change this recipe at all, it's perfect as written. This tastes just like a salad served at a local fine restaurant, and we're so happy to have found this recipe. The dressing is delicious as well. I will definitely make this again, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I would give this 10 stars if I could! The dressing is absolutely amazing and please do not substitute the walnut oil -it is worth every penny. I will only be making this salad from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
ABSOLUTELY SCRUMPTUOUS!!!! Brought it to a party and even the guys were asking for the recipe....thanks SPERL25
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Cha-ching! I loved this - everyone loved it. Only thing I did differently is I subbed honey for the maple syrup which I always do when it's called for in any recipe and I used just a bit less brown sugar. I can't stand the flavor of maple syrup anywhere but on my pancakes. This dressing was excellent, unique and complimented the ingredients of this salad perfectly. This will be made often. Thanks Sperl25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This was just as good as I had hoped it would be. The dressing is enough for double the salad. Don't put it on too soon as it tends to wilt the salad if not served right away. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
My family and I love this recipe with a few simple adjustments. First, we double the amount of salad because the amount of dressing this makes is way too much for just one bag. Or we refrigerate the unused dressing a air tight container. Second, I don't use the red onion. Third, and most importantly, I just use 1/6 cup of apple cider vinegar or the flavor is overwhelming. Oh and baby greens or spring mix are the best mixes for this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This was actually very good! I was afraid the blue cheese would be too strong, but the sweet dressing mellows it out some. I didn't have walnut oil so I used olive oil instead and Miracle Whip instead of plain mayo. Delicious salad. I used salad topping fried onions instead of fresh. Thanks, this was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Loved this salad it was a nice change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Great salad! I used a green onion instead of the red since that what I had. I subsituted nonfat Greek yogurt for the mayo and the dressing was wonderful. I cooked my pecans in a pan, sprinkled some sugar and poured some maple syrup to make the candied pecans. Yum!! Ate this salad two days in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I didn't care much for the dressing. I thought it was overly sweet. My husband liked it though. I used the "Candy Coated Pecans" recipe from allrecipes.com for this salad. Those were good! I like the pear-blue cheese combo, but I think I will stick to my usual dijon viniagrette dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States