Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I changed the recipe quite a bit, but loved it still. The dressing, for which I used plain yoghurt instead of mayo and grapeseed oil instead of walnut oil, was fabulous. It was a little sweet so I would perhaps cut back (just a little!) the amounts of maple syrup and sugar next time. For the salad I tossed romaine lettuce with red onion, blackberries and bleu cheese crumbles. The berries offered a nice texture contrast that I'm not sure the pears, unless diced, could have. We decided to put this in a bread bowl because we were missing Perkin's discontinued bread bowl salad, and I have to say this was superb that way. The dressing still had a little tang to it on the breadbowl and was great. It was all very quick too, I'd easily recommend this as a last minute dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Aulwes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Well,, I am one off those annoying people that change a recipe all up.. hehe,, but at least I didn't change it all up and then give it a bad rating :) This was WONDERFUL,, the dressing scared me,, it smelled like vinegar,, DON'T worry,, its wonderful,, I didn't change a thing on the dressing,, but in the salad,, I used green apple instead of pears, added sliced strawberries, and halfed huge red grapes, and got REALLY good blue cheese from the market and crumbled it,, SO YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troup, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is my new favorite salad! The dressing is what makes it really unique. I have served this numerous times at special occasions this past year and it has been a hit every time. Often one of the first empty dishes at a potluck :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hlm

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Delicious! The dressing is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This is a great recipe. This makes a really nice presentation. Except for using canned pears I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks so much for this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I couldn't find walnut oil, so I used EVOO. It turned out wonderful!!! I also used strawberries instead of pears. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I made this salad for a gathering and it was the hit of the meal. Everyone asked for the recipe and on a scale of 1 to 10 said it was an 11. Here are my modifications. I did not candy the pecans. Just roasted at 375 for about 6-8 minutes. I had to switch the cheese to feta for one person, and I think blue cheese would be better, but for those who don't like blue cheese, this is still a great option. I also used light mayo, but did buy roasted walnut oil and pure maple syrup for the dressing. The second time around I don't think pure maple syrup is necessary. And EVOO could be fine as a substitute for the walnut oil, but maybe not quite as good. It makes enough for more than two salads, but I can't wait to eat some tonight with dinner. Really yummy. It may be my new go-to salad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was a great recipe and quick to make. It is my new staple when I have to go to a potluck. The recipe makes way more dressing that you need, and a little bit goes a long way with this salad. I cut the ingredients in half so I don't end up with too much (but it does keep ok if you do make the full amount). I followed the recipe very closely and it turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
My family and guests love this salad. The dressing is the best, I double the dressing recipe to make sure I have enough for salad all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
unique and delicious blend of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wynter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States