Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This salad is perfect just the way it is. The dressing is seriously restaurant quality. I agree it makes more than enough dressing, but I consider that a bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This is what I had as an appetizer in a very pricey restaurant. One thing that I do is poach the pears to soften them in some wine and sugar. Just an alternative...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This salad is amazing! It was a hit at Christmas... almost everyone had seconds. I used olive oil instead of walnut. Next time I will cut the dressing recipe in half because it made a LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I looked for this recipe after having something similar at a fancy French dinner party. I made the recipe as is, with the exception of roasting the pear slices in the oven. It's a little extra work, but I think the flavor and "wow" factor are definitely worth it! I thinly sliced the pears, sprayed both sides with olive oil from a can (or you could brush or toss with olive oil), and layed them in a single layer in a 9 X 13 baking dish. Cooked them at 400 degrees for 15 minutes, turned, and cooked for another 5 minutes. Those are the times that worked in my oven, but I would suggest keeping an eye on them. I cooked them until they were tender and just beginning to brown/caramelize. I fanned four pear slices out on top of each salad for a pretty garnish and delicious flavor! This salad is AWESOME. You feel more like you're eating a dessert than a salad. I did have leftover dressing, but it didn't last long. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Delicious! This was so tasty my veggie hating husband had seconds. It tastes like a fancy restaurant salad. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I changed the recipe quite a bit, but loved it still. The dressing, for which I used plain yoghurt instead of mayo and grapeseed oil instead of walnut oil, was fabulous. It was a little sweet so I would perhaps cut back (just a little!) the amounts of maple syrup and sugar next time. For the salad I tossed romaine lettuce with red onion, blackberries and bleu cheese crumbles. The berries offered a nice texture contrast that I'm not sure the pears, unless diced, could have. We decided to put this in a bread bowl because we were missing Perkin's discontinued bread bowl salad, and I have to say this was superb that way. The dressing still had a little tang to it on the breadbowl and was great. It was all very quick too, I'd easily recommend this as a last minute dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Aulwes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Well,, I am one off those annoying people that change a recipe all up.. hehe,, but at least I didn't change it all up and then give it a bad rating :) This was WONDERFUL,, the dressing scared me,, it smelled like vinegar,, DON'T worry,, its wonderful,, I didn't change a thing on the dressing,, but in the salad,, I used green apple instead of pears, added sliced strawberries, and halfed huge red grapes, and got REALLY good blue cheese from the market and crumbled it,, SO YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troup, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This is my new favorite salad! The dressing is what makes it really unique. I have served this numerous times at special occasions this past year and it has been a hit every time. Often one of the first empty dishes at a potluck :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hlm

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Delicious! The dressing is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This is a great recipe. This makes a really nice presentation. Except for using canned pears I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks so much for this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States