Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I couldn't find walnut oil, so I used EVOO. It turned out wonderful!!! I also used strawberries instead of pears. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
I made this salad for a gathering and it was the hit of the meal. Everyone asked for the recipe and on a scale of 1 to 10 said it was an 11. Here are my modifications. I did not candy the pecans. Just roasted at 375 for about 6-8 minutes. I had to switch the cheese to feta for one person, and I think blue cheese would be better, but for those who don't like blue cheese, this is still a great option. I also used light mayo, but did buy roasted walnut oil and pure maple syrup for the dressing. The second time around I don't think pure maple syrup is necessary. And EVOO could be fine as a substitute for the walnut oil, but maybe not quite as good. It makes enough for more than two salads, but I can't wait to eat some tonight with dinner. Really yummy. It may be my new go-to salad recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was a great recipe and quick to make. It is my new staple when I have to go to a potluck. The recipe makes way more dressing that you need, and a little bit goes a long way with this salad. I cut the ingredients in half so I don't end up with too much (but it does keep ok if you do make the full amount). I followed the recipe very closely and it turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
My family and guests love this salad. The dressing is the best, I double the dressing recipe to make sure I have enough for salad all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
unique and delicious blend of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wynter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This salad is wonderful, we loved it! I didn't change this recipe at all, it's perfect as written. This tastes just like a salad served at a local fine restaurant, and we're so happy to have found this recipe. The dressing is delicious as well. I will definitely make this again, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I would give this 10 stars if I could! The dressing is absolutely amazing and please do not substitute the walnut oil -it is worth every penny. I will only be making this salad from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
ABSOLUTELY SCRUMPTUOUS!!!! Brought it to a party and even the guys were asking for the recipe....thanks SPERL25
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Cha-ching! I loved this - everyone loved it. Only thing I did differently is I subbed honey for the maple syrup which I always do when it's called for in any recipe and I used just a bit less brown sugar. I can't stand the flavor of maple syrup anywhere but on my pancakes. This dressing was excellent, unique and complimented the ingredients of this salad perfectly. This will be made often. Thanks Sperl25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This was just as good as I had hoped it would be. The dressing is enough for double the salad. Don't put it on too soon as it tends to wilt the salad if not served right away. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States