Pear and Blue Cheese Pastry Triangles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I was nervous to experiment with a new dish for our party... especially because there had only been 2 reviews... but it was SO good!! Everyone loved them! The pear had such a delicate flavor you could hardly tell it was there, I used d'anjou pears, I don't know if another kind would taste different. Don't skimp on the cheese... I cooked up 4 sweet onions (3 inches in diameter), and had about a cup left over. Three onions would have done just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I really liked these, but the whole process was a little strange. The flavor was good, and the guests ate them up, but the next time I make them I will use the puff pastry cups. I tried it both as written in the directions and as one reviewer mentioned stuffing the triangles. both ways didn't get enough filling for me and I ended up with huge bites of puff pastry with only the middle bite with filling. I would highly recommend this recipe, and I will make it again, just using the cups instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by miss_erin
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This recipe came out amazing! I did like the previous review and put the items inside the triangles. It was a hit with the group I made it for and I would definitely make it again! I might next time add a little balsamic vinegar for a bit more flavor, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss_erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Absolutely delicious!! 10 stars from me and my mom! I folded the pastry over and made triangles stuffed with the onions,pears and blue cheese. What an amazing combo of flavors. Will most definately make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
These were great! Because I am lazy, I used frozen Fillo *cups* instead of fussing w/the puff pastry triangles. So easy and so good. I filled each cup w/a little caramelized onion, finely diced pear, and blue cheese, then baked at 350 for 3-5 minutes. A great amuse bouche I will serve regularly...quick, economical, and quite tasty! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5THSISTER
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I chose to make this appetizer because I LOVE blue cheese, I LOVE pears and I most especially LOVE carmelized onions. I made this exactly as written except using premade phyllo cups. I'm glad I did as it was a time saver. The filling was enough to fill 45 cups with some pear left over. They smelled so good when I took them out of the oven. Unfortunately, the teaspoon of blue cheese per pastry was a bit heavy handed. I liked them okay, but they were not the hit of my party as I had hoped they would be. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5THSISTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Messy Cook
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! The pear has such a subtle flavor that the combination with onions and blue cheese make the perfect compliment. These little pastries will not last long and they reheat very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Devine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Had to make another batch for a party so -I took the tip of using the cups and made double! Just saute the pears with the onion as the cooking time for the cups is only 3-5 minutes max! So great thank you pj.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Photo by Scarlett
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Thanks so much to everyone for your great reviews. I've tried folded over pastry and pastry cups but I still prefer them open face. I recently treated myself to a very expensive bottle of balsamic and its great in the recipe!! Cali Pizza Kitchen recently came out with a similar pizza and we have been making it at home and its great!! Thanks again everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Gunnison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I loved the onion, blue cheese & pear flavor but there was not enough "room" in the puff pastry triangle to get more than a tidbit of taste. I'll take another reviewer's hint and use puff pastry cups next time. Or maybe a light pizza crust...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States