Pear and Blue Cheese Pastry Triangles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These were fantastic, everybody loved loved loved them. I did add some chopped walnuts to the mix, and I had to use two packages of puff pastry dough. I used folded squares of pastry dough for nice neat packages. The worst part really was carmelizing the onions, took about 40 minutes on my stove....but oh it was so worth it, the flavour...all the flavours melded so perfectly. This is definitely a keeper, I'm going to try a mushroom and goat cheese mixture next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LizT
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
To solve a space/goodness problem that a number of people were having, I made decent sized rectangles rather than triangles and fit on lots of good toppings. It decreased the puff around the edges, but gave about five great bites. I also put the blue cheese underneath to make it prettier and drizzled balsamic vinegar reduction over the top. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Devine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Had to make another batch for a party so -I took the tip of using the cups and made double! Just saute the pears with the onion as the cooking time for the cups is only 3-5 minutes max! So great thank you pj.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pj

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
What a great combination! Especially with a glass of red wine. (I had goat cheese instead of blue cheese too) it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Big hit at the party I brought these to. Followed recipe exactly and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I made this for a "fun" dinner for my husband and myself. I thought it was out-of-this-world but he gave it a 4. It was easy and delicious - we'll have it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzicat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Key Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Excellent recipe - I simplified by rolling out the puff pastry as a whole sheet, covered with toppings and baked. Just cut into squares to serve. Also tried subbing the blue cheese with brie and that was pretty good, but not quite as tasty as the blue cheese topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woxall, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
The only reason I give this 4 stars and not 5 is that I really had to work at the proportions (I had way more filling than I had dough). And I finally ended up with rectangles instead of triangles. However, the ingredients are fabulous, and when I finally got them made properly, they were wonderful. This is a really delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyAnnA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This was absolutely delicious and went fast at my party. I cut it into triangles and then folded the points over. I also only needed one pear. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scarlett
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Thanks so much to everyone for your great reviews. I've tried folded over pastry and pastry cups but I still prefer them open face. I recently treated myself to a very expensive bottle of balsamic and its great in the recipe!! Cali Pizza Kitchen recently came out with a similar pizza and we have been making it at home and its great!! Thanks again everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scarlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Gunnison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States