Pear and Blue Cheese Pastry Triangles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I made this recipe according to the directions in the recipe. I took them to a holiday party and it was about 50 percent approval rate. The blue cheese was a little over powering. If I made again I would use another cheese. Not the hit of the party. The pears were also smothered by the blue cheese taste. Even the fans of the recipe agreed that the flavor was a little strong to go with other appetizers. I would not recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Wow! I made these for my parents and I the other night... We couldn't stop eating these delicious little triangles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I made this recipe for a recent gathering, following the directions for puff pastry for half of them, and the other half I put into mini phyllo cups. I did put a dash of balsamic vinegar on the top of the blue cheese topping. While these were good, they weren't sensational in my opinion. I think I wanted more pear and more blue cheese. I think that how others made them by folding over the triangle and sealing them but in a bigger size would be better for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I used flat puff pastry, cut into squares and put it in a mini-muffin tin, curling up the corners. I only made half the recipe, and it was good, but kind of onion heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Quite good and exotic. Couldn't find puff pastry cups so I shoved puff pastry squares into mini muffin cups. Not the best presentation. I would use less onion next time, maybe only 2. Took 40 minutes to cook down like it said. Presented nicely. Put the blue cheese on after cooking, but I'd maybe put half inside next time for more blue cheese flavor. Time consuming but easy and classy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
very very good...a touch rich, I used a bit less butter with the onions, and a touch more pear, a hair less blue cheese and added walnuts and it was perfect to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamatha Barber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Photo by Caroline
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I was a bit leery, but these are so good. I have to admit that I did change one thing - I made filled phyllo triangles out of them instead of just setting the topping on top of a triangle only because I needed these to be really mobile. The taste was wonderful and even my 14 yr. old daughter who is very picky loved these. I do believe I would put more pear in next time though - it did get a bit "drowned out" by the onion and blue cheese, but just by a bit. Perhaps three pears next time instead of two, but still, completely awesome recipe. Thanks Scarlett!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brule, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These were awesome! I ended up putting all ingredients into each square and folding them into a triangle and sealed the edges so there would be more filling inside, otherwise I followed the recipe exactly and they were out of this world!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western Springs, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cambria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Definitely a recipe worth keeping, but read the reviews! First, the amount of onions. If you use small onions (about the size of a tennis call) you will need three. I used two large onions (about the size of a softball) and it was more than enough. Second, while this is good as it is, the cups are a great idea. See my custom recipe for how I plan to change it. Three, be sure to use parchment paper, and when you cut the puff pastry leave it in a square with just a tiny space between the cut pieces. That way you can just put the toppings on the entire thing - much faster and easier, and it ensures there's topping all over it. Fourth, bake at least as long as the directions say. it's better well done than underdone. Some of the onions may burn but you can break them off the finished product. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHNH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms with Blue Cheese

Watch how to make delicious grilled portobello mushrooms with blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States