Pear and Almond French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Great. Easy to adjust proportions as you like. I used 1 carton of egg beaters and 2 large eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I made something extremely close to this (without the pears). It was incredible!! Everyone loved it. 2 1/2 cups of eggs is (according to my own recipe) about 8-12-depending on if you're using medium or large eggs. You can use Egg Beaters as a sub-maybe the reason for the cup measurement. I'm trying it this next week so my comment will be relevant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mound, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emily DB
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I made this last night and baked it this morning. It's delicious! I halved the recipe and made it in a glass pie dish using 6 slices of whole wheat sourdough bread and egg beaters (by the way 1 cup is equal to about 4 large eggs). I did not use almonds. I forgot to layer the brown sugar on the bottom but remembered before I placed it in the fridge so I layered it on the top. Then when it was done, I flipped it and sprinkled it with more brown sugar and placed it back in the oven for 5 minutes to get all melty. As you can see from my picture it did stick a bit because the sugar caramelized on top. If I were to get the sugar in the right order I'm sure it would be lovely to serve to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA
Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Loved this because I could make it ahead for a more enjoyable time at brunch with friends! My modifications based on what I had on hand...made with French bread from Costco, used 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla (was out of almond extract), used fresh sliced bosc pears, peeled and it tasted amazing!!! I had 6 people for brunch and this dish serves 20...well we all had 2nds or 3rds! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made this for Father's Day breakfast & my dad loved it!! He had seconds and asked for some leftovers to take home. This is definitely a keeper. I loved being able to prep it the night before, so that all I had to do was stick it in the oven when we got home from church. Next time, I am going to sprinkle the almonds on top for the last 15minutes of baking so they get a little toasted. However, unless it is used as a side dish, I don't see how you can get 20 servings. I made it as the main dish and we had 6 servings (I used a 9x13 dish instead of 10x14)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was extra easy and VERY tasty. I cut recipe in half and baked it in a deep dish pie plate. It served 6. It was light, and not too sweet. I used 5 eggs. I baked it 50 minutes. I served it with pancake syrup. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This is delicious! It may now be one of my family's favorites. Made it for an event at church and got nothing but rave reviews. It's even good at room temperature. General rule on eggs is that 1 egg is 1/4 cup. However, this all depends on the size of your eggs, so don't worry if it's not exact. I as a bit short on the eggs (probably needed 1-2 more), but still turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Terrific recipe! I used fresh pears instead of canned, and it turned out great! Love the syrup that the butter and brown sugar create, it's just enough to give it a wonderful sweetness. UPDATE: I just made this recipe again, and used vanilla soy beverage instead of milk, and only put in 6 large eggs, forgot to measure the amount of bread I used, maybe 3/4 of what's recommended? Just used enough until it soaked up the milk/egg mixture, and it turned out great! A little less "rich" tasting, but still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miakoda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was enjoyed by all the morning after Thanksgiving. Next time I will increase the pears so there is a solid layer of them; as is, they are too far between, and you're only likely to get one every other bite. I went ahead and put on the almonds before baking. It was easier and didn't have any adverse effect. The sourdough and almond extract make this a special french toast. A definite keeper~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Fantastic breakfast! My entire family (even the children) loved this not-overly-sweet breakfast. The only changes to the original recipe that I made was using fresh red pears (three) instead of canned. I had no almond extract, but I added Ceylon cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg over the pears. The cinnamon gave it a great kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States