Pear and Almond French Toast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I thought this was very good and plan to use it for my Bunko breakfast this month. I followed the directions except I used sliced can pears and drained the juice out of it. The recipe didn't say whether it did or didn't. I put the almonds on before baking and used both the almond and vanilla extract. The picture looked like there was whipped cream on it but the recipe didn't address that. I didn't use it and it was great the way it was. I had a pear in every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I used canned pears and found them to taste terrible in this recipe. Pears just dont go with almond extract. I also thought that there should be more sugar added - it tasted about as sweet as a popover. I doubled the almond extract which I thought was perfect. I will try making this with fresh peaches, more brown sugar on the bottom and a little more white sugar in the egg mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Delicious, easy brunch or dessert that was loved by everyone at church, home, and work. Has a bread pudding consistency but is not overly sweet. Made the following changes, as others suggested: double the pears (sliced in juice), 10 lg. eggs, 1-1/2 lb. loaves French bread, 2 c. milk (or almond milk and vegan butter), increase almond extract to 1 tsp. if you prefer stronger almond flavor, put generous 4 oz. pkg. sliced almonds on top before baking. 10 x 14 pan - 24 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosettaw

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I made this with almond milk and vegan butter and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Hands down and without a doubt, a new Christmas morning tradition was born this year. This was the easiest, most incredibly delicious and well received breakfast I've served in quite some time. Not to sweet at all, just the perfect amount. I used a 1 1/2 lb loaf of sourdough bread, cut to large cubes, with 9 ex-large eggs. I upped the milk to closer to 2 cups and increased the almond extract to a teaspoon. I also used a jar of my home canned pears instead of store bought. I didn't slice them but instead left them in halves. Once baked (65 minutes in my oven), it puffed up beautifully. Also topped the servings with fresh whipped cream flavored with almond extract and almond slices. Totally yummy and will most certainly make again. Love it and thanks for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Was a big hit at a recent brunch. I substituted canned peaches, used 11 eggs and it took 75 minutes to bake. Not too sweet. If you want it sweeter, I would suggest 1/8 cup more of brown sugar and another tablespoon of butter. Absolutely delicious. I also think extra peaches are a good idea, I sliced then thin but not too thin. Thanks, this was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Loved this because I could make it ahead for a more enjoyable time at brunch with friends! My modifications based on what I had on hand...made with French bread from Costco, used 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla (was out of almond extract), used fresh sliced bosc pears, peeled and it tasted amazing!!! I had 6 people for brunch and this dish serves 20...well we all had 2nds or 3rds! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Fantastic breakfast! My entire family (even the children) loved this not-overly-sweet breakfast. The only changes to the original recipe that I made was using fresh red pears (three) instead of canned. I had no almond extract, but I added Ceylon cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg over the pears. The cinnamon gave it a great kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was enjoyed by all the morning after Thanksgiving. Next time I will increase the pears so there is a solid layer of them; as is, they are too far between, and you're only likely to get one every other bite. I went ahead and put on the almonds before baking. It was easier and didn't have any adverse effect. The sourdough and almond extract make this a special french toast. A definite keeper~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Great. Easy to adjust proportions as you like. I used 1 carton of egg beaters and 2 large eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Toast Casserole

See how to make this 5-star breakfast casserole.

Baked French Toast

This baked French toast casserole is so tasty, and easy to assemble.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States