Pear-a-dise Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Muffins have a very mild taste. I tend to like sweeter but these would be great for breakfast. I might add more pears next time. I like pears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN CAN COOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I used 2 cups of pears, because I love the taste, I add 1/3 cup of honey, and cinnamon. I used olive oil, the result was good, not too sweet even though I added sugar. I used 1/3 cup of chopped almonds and 3 eggs, which I batter until they fluffed, the result was good. I think is a good muffin for breakfast and diet, something to treat you but without all the calories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I baked it in a loaf pan,baking a little longer...frosted the cake with homemade chocolate frosting,it definitely was a winner,mostly because it gave me the opportunity to use our own homecanned pears from our garden!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pauline

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
Really good, not-too sweet, muffins you can feel good about! Will make these again! [I used fresh pears instead of canned, which reduced the sugar content.]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I rate this 2 stars because it is edible. There is nothing wrong with the recipe, it just doesn't produce a good tasting muffin. They aren't foul, just not really tasty. Too much work for a bland, boring muffin. I doctored the original recipe, using fragrant, ripe pears and added more spice. It didn't help. I would make banana bread or blueberry muffins instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reneembm

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
These are really good! I used vanilla yogurt and canned pears in syrup. Also, I ran out of honey, so I added enough brown sugar to make 1/3 of a cup. I used half a cup of oat bran and half a cup of graham flour instead of whole wheat to boost the fiber content. These are not too sweet, not like typical American style muffins, but just sweet enough to satisfy my sweet tooth. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I chose this receipe because the yoghurt,honey and pear are healthy,yummy and so,ingredients that are often in my fridge!I had to take a bit of a risk(normally I am very cautious especailly when its my first time to make something)and use guess how to make them because I have no way to measure some of the quantities I see in alot of on this site like 6g,2g (I put in 3 teaspns of baking powder to nearly 2 cups of plain flour, I don't have baking soda so I leave that out instead of 235ml of canned pear(I grated two fresh pears)I used "greek style" natural yoghurt and tasmanian leatherwood honey.They turned out light and moist with delicate flavours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hobart, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I actually really liked this recipe. We eat no sugar and I only use sprouted wheat flour, so not every recipe works. I used sprouted wheat flour, doubled the spices, and added 3/4 t. vanilla. I also used melted butter instead of oil. I used several small, over ripe fresh pears. The resulting muffins were very moist and I told my family they were mini pear puddings and we ate them with spoons. They loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
It didn't have much flavor and I even tried adding instant vanilla pudding mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I wanted something to use fresh pears, so modified this recipe using 2 fresh pears diced. Did not have the whole wheat flour, so used all-purpose. Overall successful - passed family test - did use orange zest and a bit more cinnamon and nutmeg and vanilla yogurt for additional flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States