Pear Sour Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kristi
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I made individual mini pies but followed the recipe and took the advice of boiling the pears first since they weren't that ripe...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This pie is really good. I realized that I forgot the flour in the custard part and it still worked. I used a half a lemon on top if the pears while I put the crust together. I par baked the crust for about 10 minutes. I also used almond extract as well as vanilla. I made in a rectangular Pyrex pan. I used brown sugar in the topping instead of white. Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This is a very good pie and very easy to make. I liked the taste quite a bit but I gave it four stars because it needed something-more spice, more cinnamon, something to give it a kick into amazing. Also the crumble topping was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I just love this recipe... im making it tonight AGAIN... family just loves it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TraciYoshi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This pie is awesome! My pears were on the verge of rotting so I was scared they were gong to be mealy/mushy after being cooked but they weren't (I left the slices fairly thick to further prevent this)! There are some awesome flavors going on in this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This pie was sensational! Most loved at my Thanksgiving dessert table. I did add cinnamon to the sour cream mix and I put the oatmeal crumble I use for apple crisp on the top. It was wonderful! Thanks for sharing. I always have all of these ingredients on hand , so it will go on my list if I ever need a quick dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
My husband made this pie after the neighbor talked about a pear pie. We didn't have sour cream so he used Greek plain yogurt instead. It was great ! High complements to my husband and the provider of the receipt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This was a great recipe to use my VERY ripe pears! It wasn't too sweet and was very creamy. I did, however, have to use a sour cream substitute of 7/8 cup buttermilk with 3 tablespoons butter, which I did melt and then mix with the buttermilk. My husband thinks it was better with the buttermilk, but he also is not a fan of sour cream - and I am! I look forward to having enough sour cream to use the next time! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OrsolyaD
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I'm not a pear lover-- but my boyfriend is, so I made this pie for him. I followed the recipe's directions however, I used an extra pear. I also added more sugar and cinnamon to the streusal topping which I felt it needed. I suggest using an egg white wash ont he crust (I used a frozen pie crust) because the base was a bit soggy. Other than that, my boyfriend and neighbor (who had two pieces) absolutely loved it. Plus, it looks great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrsolyaD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States