Pear Sour Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by andrea2212
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I'm always on here and never rate. So that should tell you how good this pie is. I followed the recipe and added lemon juice to the pears and lemon zest to the filling. I arranged pears decoratively on top to make it pretty. The flavors are amazing!!!! I will be making this for future parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This is a good pear pie. It is. Even though there is sour cream in it, it isn't all that creamy - as in rich tasting. It's still light with pear being the star. The ripeness of the pears were the type that when you peel them, they're wet - not dripping, soft wet; but slippery. I used one additional pear, 1/4" slices. This pie has the sweetness level of the pears - so woo-hoo a low sugar dessert that's good! Woo-hoo! :D I didn't make the crumble topping since planned to make the caramel drizzle listed in a review. 'Still a pretty pie though. Mine too 15 - 20 minutes more. I'm thinking with it being such a wet pie, the temp should be higher. I thought about upping it, but didn't. No big deal, but I will next time. I'm thinking of peaches, instead of pears, with raspberry sauce next summer! Mmmmm! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Made this according to recipe and it was awesome! My husband LOVED it. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
I did not have a pie plate handy. I used a 2 qt oblong casserole dish. My pears were very ripe, so no par boil required. I followed the instructions exactly with no alterations. WOW. Flavor is amazing! I will be making this next Sunday to take for 'dinner on the grounds' at our church. Thank you Therapflu for such a fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristi
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I made individual mini pies but followed the recipe and took the advice of boiling the pears first since they weren't that ripe...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This pie is really good. I realized that I forgot the flour in the custard part and it still worked. I used a half a lemon on top if the pears while I put the crust together. I par baked the crust for about 10 minutes. I also used almond extract as well as vanilla. I made in a rectangular Pyrex pan. I used brown sugar in the topping instead of white. Yum yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
This is a very good pie and very easy to make. I liked the taste quite a bit but I gave it four stars because it needed something-more spice, more cinnamon, something to give it a kick into amazing. Also the crumble topping was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I just love this recipe... im making it tonight AGAIN... family just loves it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci Baird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This pie is awesome! My pears were on the verge of rotting so I was scared they were gong to be mealy/mushy after being cooked but they weren't (I left the slices fairly thick to further prevent this)! There are some awesome flavors going on in this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This pie was sensational! Most loved at my Thanksgiving dessert table. I did add cinnamon to the sour cream mix and I put the oatmeal crumble I use for apple crisp on the top. It was wonderful! Thanks for sharing. I always have all of these ingredients on hand , so it will go on my list if I ever need a quick dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States