Pear Sour Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I'm the original poster of this recipe. Growing up on a pear farm, I looked forward to my mother making this every fall with fresh, ripe pears. Make sure the pears you use are VERY ripe. If not, boil them a bit before using in the pie. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This pie was outstanding! I would boil the pears for a bit prior to adding to the mix as they were a little crunchy next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This is one of the best pies I have ever tasted! The sour cream really adds such a unique flavor to the fruit. I only had 2 pears so I also used some G. Smith apples which worked fine. The topping is to die for and stays in it's place instead of being loose and falling off. Excellent and I will use this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by molly's mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This pie is amazing, i have a friend who makes it amd they add something special to the top, you boil, 1/2cup white sugar, 1/2cup brown sugar, 1/2cup butter, 1/2cup whipping cream, you heat the sauce a little and drizzle over the pie it is incredibly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OrsolyaD
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I'm not a pear lover-- but my boyfriend is, so I made this pie for him. I followed the recipe's directions however, I used an extra pear. I also added more sugar and cinnamon to the streusal topping which I felt it needed. I suggest using an egg white wash ont he crust (I used a frozen pie crust) because the base was a bit soggy. Other than that, my boyfriend and neighbor (who had two pieces) absolutely loved it. Plus, it looks great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrsolyaD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This pie is good. The only changes I made was that I added some cinnamon and salt into the crumb topping. Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Absolutely delicious. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This pie is EASY and wonderful. Fresh, mildly tart yet subtle and sophisticated... I really like the flavors and the texture. I also like that nobody is going to expect this pie. Bring it out for a nice surprise on any special occasion, or no occasion whatsoever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
WOW! Despite the reviews, I really did not believe something so simple could be so good -- it is fantastic! As per some other reviewers, I added cinnamon to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PimpernelSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
AMAZING! This pie was so delicious and easy to make. It's a great way to use up pears that are going soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States