Pear Sour Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
My husband made this pie after the neighbor talked about a pear pie. We didn't have sour cream so he used Greek plain yogurt instead. It was great ! High complements to my husband and the provider of the receipt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joann Palmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This was a great recipe to use my VERY ripe pears! It wasn't too sweet and was very creamy. I did, however, have to use a sour cream substitute of 7/8 cup buttermilk with 3 tablespoons butter, which I did melt and then mix with the buttermilk. My husband thinks it was better with the buttermilk, but he also is not a fan of sour cream - and I am! I look forward to having enough sour cream to use the next time! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OrsolyaD
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I'm not a pear lover-- but my boyfriend is, so I made this pie for him. I followed the recipe's directions however, I used an extra pear. I also added more sugar and cinnamon to the streusal topping which I felt it needed. I suggest using an egg white wash ont he crust (I used a frozen pie crust) because the base was a bit soggy. Other than that, my boyfriend and neighbor (who had two pieces) absolutely loved it. Plus, it looks great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrsolyaD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
I made two of these and one came out better than the other for some reason, but both were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Absolutely delicious. Wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Justme222
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
The flavor was good, but it was crunchy. My husband loved it anyway. I precooked the pears but not enough b/c they were still quite hard. It's my photo of the slice on the yellow and green plate. Next time I will precook the pears much longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This pie is EASY and wonderful. Fresh, mildly tart yet subtle and sophisticated... I really like the flavors and the texture. I also like that nobody is going to expect this pie. Bring it out for a nice surprise on any special occasion, or no occasion whatsoever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
This pie is amazing, i have a friend who makes it amd they add something special to the top, you boil, 1/2cup white sugar, 1/2cup brown sugar, 1/2cup butter, 1/2cup whipping cream, you heat the sauce a little and drizzle over the pie it is incredibly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This pie is good. The only changes I made was that I added some cinnamon and salt into the crumb topping. Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States