Pear Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Batman
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I added a little more brown sugar and cinnamon to the top before baking. I also substituted apples in place of the pears and added caramel chips for a soft gooey scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chro
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
The scones were very good. I added a little bit more honey on top of the 1/3 cup of brown sugar, and turned out perfectly sweet end. I also put a tiny amount of brown sugar on top of them when they were fresh out of the oven. Very, very, good moist, and will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Very good. The cinnamon and pears make a good combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
These may be my favourite scones. I was looking for recipes to use up a basket of pears I had bought and came across this one. Other than using ground ginger instead of cinnamon I didn't change a thing. The texture of the dough was very much like a traditional scone, so I wasn't able to use the "drop by spoonfuls" instructions. Instead, I patted out the dough into a circle and cut it into 8 triangles. They came out flaky and tender, with a delicate flavour. Will definitely bake again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I think this recipe is excellent. I followed the recipe as written except I added ginger as one reviewer did. They're very good. Four pears is more than three cups...of course it's runny. Follow the recipe and they'll come out great. If you then want to play with the recipe, go for it but you at least have a starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
My pear tree is dropping pears faster than I can use them so I tried this recipe. It is a keeper. I really liked that the scones were moist and light. My family is already begging for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
The recipe was very easy, which was nice. I chose it because I had two pears that were getting overripe (really only needed 1 for the recipe). I ended up adding a glaze to make it taste better - it was a little bland on its own. My kids loved it after I added the glaze to make it sweeter. I will add ginger to the batter next time, as one reviewer suggested. and maybe some walnuts?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
These are great, although definitely more cookie like than actual scones. They're not overly sweet, but I think that's the point for a breakfast item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was easy, and my family raved! I thought the dough was too dry but then added the fresh pear which really moistened it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Yummy! Mine came out more like a muffin than a scone, but I love them! I used my own canned pears, which probably accounts for the extra moisture. Even my British friends approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States