Pear Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I think this recipe is excellent. I followed the recipe as written except I added ginger as one reviewer did. They're very good. Four pears is more than three cups...of course it's runny. Follow the recipe and they'll come out great. If you then want to play with the recipe, go for it but you at least have a starting point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
My pear tree is dropping pears faster than I can use them so I tried this recipe. It is a keeper. I really liked that the scones were moist and light. My family is already begging for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
The recipe was very easy, which was nice. I chose it because I had two pears that were getting overripe (really only needed 1 for the recipe). I ended up adding a glaze to make it taste better - it was a little bland on its own. My kids loved it after I added the glaze to make it sweeter. I will add ginger to the batter next time, as one reviewer suggested. and maybe some walnuts?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
These are great, although definitely more cookie like than actual scones. They're not overly sweet, but I think that's the point for a breakfast item.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was easy, and my family raved! I thought the dough was too dry but then added the fresh pear which really moistened it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Yummy! Mine came out more like a muffin than a scone, but I love them! I used my own canned pears, which probably accounts for the extra moisture. Even my British friends approved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I found the texture to be more like drop biscuits than scones. I would have liked more spices and a little more sweetness to these; except for the bites of pear, I thought they were bland. I probably won't make these again, but thank you for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I really enjoy these scones and have made them multiple times, but like many, I have made my own variations. You certainly need more dry ingredients, so I suggest playing with the consistency until the batter looks scone-like. Either way, these do have a "muffin-y" texture when baked. When I'm feeling lazy, I substitute the dry ingredients (minus brown sugar) for Bisquik - so easy. I also use additional spices or substitute the pears for applesauce according to my whim on a particular day. Recently, I substituted 1/2 of the flour for whey protein to give some nutritional value to the recipe - totally worked - my son ate them right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
After reading the reviews, I made this recipe with the following modifications: 1 c. whole wheat flour and 3/4 all purpose flour, increased the cinnamon to 3/4 tsp. Added 1 c. oats (wanted to be able to form into wheel and slice), 1/2 c. toasted walnuts (will try pecans next time). I only used one pear, but I would probably use 2 next time. Still turned out very moist and I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
These were amazing. The only change I made was to use buttermilk instead of half and half. So tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States